Wednesday May 23rd, 2018 2:49AM

Tyler Courtney shines with 2017 Chili Bowl opener win

By Event PR
  Contact Editor

TULSA, Okla.- Tyler Courtney spent his morning unveiling the new #Driven2SaveLives program in honor of Bryan Clauson.

He then spent his evening driving like Clauson, as the pilot of the Clauson-Marshall Racing No. 7BC raced to his first preliminary A-Feature win in Chili Bowl competition Tuesday night to open the Chili Bowl Midget Nationals inside Tulsa, Oklahoma’s River Spirit Expo Center.

In doing so, the Indiana driver locks into his first Chili Bowl Championship feature event on Saturday night.

While the win was a very emotional one for the entire Clauson-Marshall racing team, Tyler explained the win simply when asked to put it into words.

“Two words. Parked It.”

“Honestly, I think I’m still in shock,” Courtney said. “I don’t think it’s really hit me yet. This is really cool with a new team, on the so called dream team that Bryan wanted to put together. Bryan (Clauson) was the guy that gave me the opportunity seven years ago. He’s a big part of my career and plus, I got to win my first USAC National sprint Car race over him this summer during Sprint Week. That’s something that I’ll always have with me.”

Courtney, who earned the pole in Tuesday’s Warren CAT Qualifying Night A-Feature, battled the opening laps with Matt Sherrell before having to also contend with NASCAR Sprint Cup Series driver Kyle Larson.

Locked in a tight three way battle for the first six laps around the Tulsa Expo Raceway, Courtney began putting distance on Larson until the field came into view. Then the gap between the two began to dwindle as Larson worked the cushion at both ends of the Raceway.

With 12 laps to go, Larson made the move for the lead, but a caution came out before the lap could be completed.

Back under green, Larson and Courtney used up every inch of the track. With eight laps to go, Larson had the lead coming off the fourth turn. Running hard to the cushion, the door was open for Courtney to retake the point off the second turn.

Larson’s run would go south one turn later, as a run onto the cushion sent Larson’s car airborne before it was hit by Matt Westfall. Both drivers were able to continue.

From there, Courtney would run away to a 2.775 second advantage over to take the victory over Larry Wight, who finished in second and will lock into Saturday night’s A-Feature.

Charging hard the final eight laps, Zach Daum advanced from 10th to the final transfer in third, securing his sixth Chili Bowl A-Feature start.

A preliminary night winner one year ago, Alex Bright came up just shy of the transfer with fourth place finish, while Jonathan Beason finished in fifth.

Chase Briscoe, Tom Harris, Steven Shebester, Matt Sherrell and Joey Saldana rounded out the top ten.

For the ninth running of the Vacuworx Invitational Race of Champions, Kyle Larson led non-stop to pick up the night’s $6,363.63 check.

Normally a $2,500 to win event, Kim and Greg Stewart along with Doug and Mary Harris brought the amount up to honor the late Bryan Clauson. Already a VIROC winner, this win was especially emotional for Larson as he and Clauson were close friends.

Following the victory lane interview, it was announced by Kim Stewart that the race is going to pay $6,363.63 to win from now on.

The Chili Bowl Nationals continues on Wednesday. For more information, visit

Chili Bowl Nationals
Tulsa Expo Raceway – Tulsa, OK
Night 1 Results – Jan. 10, 2017

1. 7BC-Tyler Courtney
2. 99W-Larry Wight
3. 5D-Zach Daum
4. 77-Alex Bright
5. 8J-Jonathan Beason
6. 5CB-Chase Briscoe
7. 4H-Tom Harris
8. 82M-Steven Shebester
9. 35-Matt Sherrell
10. 17-Joey Saldana
11. 25MP-Michael Pickens
12. 5H-Aaron Reutzel
13. 05-Brad Loyet
14. 51J-R.J. Johnson
15. 97K-Spencer Bayston
16. 66-Kevin Thomas, Jr.
17. 4R-Ryan Greth
18. 44X-Wesley Smith
19. 3H-Mike Hess
20. 78-Nick Wean
21. 71K-Kyle Larson
22. 14W-Matt Westfall
23. 18-Tony Bruce, Jr.
24. 17E-Blake Edwards

1. 71K-Kyle Larson
2. 97-Rico Abreu
3. 6K-Dave Darland
4. 47X-Tim McCreadie
5. 1R-Thomas Meseraull
6. 71-Christopher Bell
7. 76M-Brady Bacon
8. 84X-Chad Boat
9. 21K-Cory Kruseman
10. 21-Daryn Pittman
11. 67-Tanner Thorson
12. 5-Jerry Coons, Jr.
13. 47-Danny Stratton
14. 71G-Damion Gardner
15. 24-Tracy Hines
16. 1-Sammy Swindell
17. 05-Brad Loyet
18. 1ST-J.J. Yeley
19. 15-Donny Schatz
20. 22H-John Heydenreich

  • Associated Categories: NASCAR News, Other Motorsports
  • Associated Tags: motorsports, Open Wheel, Auto Racing, Dirt Track, Short Track, Midgets, Chili Bowl
© Copyright 2018
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.