Friday June 22nd, 2018 12:56PM

Bubba Pollard scores Red Eye 100 victory at New Smyrna

By Brooke Franceschini-NASCAR Media
  Contact Editor

NEW SMYRNA, Fla. – Bubba Pollard kicked-off the 2017 NASCAR Whelen All-American Series season with a celebration in victory lane Saturday night at Florida’s New Smyrna Speedway.

The Senoia, Georgia speedster won the 31st Red Eye Super Late Model 100 after an intense finish with New Smyrna’s 2016 champion Brad May at the end of the 100-lap feature.

“I let Brad (May) go at the beginning of the race hoping he’d burn his right front tire off,” said Pollard. “But I stayed with him. We were able to cool our tires off there and get a restart. He had a good racecar and he made it tough on us for sure.”

With 14 laps remaining, a spin in turn 2 set up a dramatic finish for the 100-lap feature event.

“I spun the tires on the restart,” said May. “I shifted and spun the tires the rest of the way down the straightaway, almost.”

Pollard was able to beat May at the line to earn his second Red Eye 100 victory. His win made him the first repeat winner since Stephen Nasse in 2011 and 2013 and the third repeat winner overall.

Nasse, Dawsonville, Georgia’s Spencer Davis and Mason Diaz rounded out the top-five.

Jeff Choquette, Jerry Artuso, David Rogers, Korbin Forrister and Daniel Keene, Jr. rounded out the top ten finishers.

Earlier in the night, Lawrenceville, Georgia’s Casey Roderick won the Pro Late Model Zack Dunatti Memorial 125.

Roderick drove to the victory after a last lap tangle with Carter Stokes sent Stokes spinning in the final turn as the two attempted to negotiate a lap car. That led to a post-race scuffle in victory lane with members of Stokes’ crew, resulting in race officials disqualifying Stokes for “Unsportsmanlike Conduct.”

Spencer Davis finished in second, with Anthony Sergi in third, Mason Diaz in fourth and Brad May in fifth.

Jason Vail, Robert Strader, Jr., Daniel Keene, Jr., Phillip Bessette and Michael Lira rounded out the top ten.

In other action, Jason Vail took the victory in the Sportsman feature, with Earl Beckner finishing in second, Kody Jett in third, Butch Herdegen in fourth and Patrick Thomas in fifth.

Zack Curtis was the winner in the Bomber feature. Matt Thornton came home in second, with William Hindman in third, Greg Bruce in fourth and Jimmy Barron in fifth.

New Smyrna Speedway – New Smyrna Beach, FL
Race Results – January 7, 2017

Red Eye Super Late Model 100
1. #26 Bubba Pollard
2. #9 Brad May
3. #51 Stephen Nasse
4. #29 Spencer Davis
5. #24 Mason Diaz
6. #9c Jeff Choquette
7. #5 Jerry Artuso
8. #11 David Rogers
9. #5f Korbin Forrister
10. #5K Daniel Keene, Jr.
11. #00 Anthony Cataldi
12. #5w Spencer Wauters
13. #7 Dylan Martin
14. #07 Tyler Scofield
15. #32 Tyler Dippel

Zack Donatti Memorial Pro Late Model 125
1. #18 Casey Roderick
2. #29 Spencer Davis
3. #20 Anthony Sergi
4. #24 Mason Diaz
5. #9 Brad May
6. #407 Jason Vail
7. #11 Robert Strader, Jr.
8. #112 Daniel Keene, Jr.
9. #117 Phillip Bessette
10. #57 Michael Lira
11. #41 Joe Gerard
12. #9j Kody Jett
13. #22 Justin South
14. #10 Matt Montineri
15. #97 Cole Anderson
16. #21 Brandon Johnson
17. #15 Cody Blair
18. #9c Jeff Choquette
19. #51 Eddie Fatcher
DNS: #54 Zach Harris
DNS: #4z Alan Bruns
DQ: #33 Carter Stokes

1. #407 Jason Vail
2. #71 Earl Beckner
3. #9 Kody Jett
4. #51 Butch Herdegen
5. #111 Patrick Thomas
6. #85 Raymond Dinsmore III
7. #33 Mike Dahm
8. #09 John Emerson
9. #25 Timmy Todd, Jr.
10. #31 JT Tippins
11. #22 Shyanne Mathers

1. #63 Zack Curtis
2. #00 Matt Thornton
3. #89 William Hindman
4. #8 Greg Bruce
5. #88 Jimmy Barron
6. #19 Robbie Whiter
7. #3 Jeff Johnston
8. #10 Joe Hamilton
9. #17 James Strehle

  • Associated Categories: NASCAR News, Other Motorsports
  • Associated Tags: nascar, motorsports, Auto Racing, Stock Car, Short Track, Asphalt, Late Model, NASCAR Whelen All-American Series
© Copyright 2018
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.