Thursday October 19th, 2017 5:59PM

Morris claims second straight Senoia Late Model title

By Track PR
  Contact Editor
SENOIA, GA - It's now two straight points championships in the Jodeco Auto Sales Late Model division at Senoia Raceway in Senoia, GA for Fayetteville's Glenn Morris. The veteran driver clinched his second title last Saturday night with a third place run in the feature and then afterwards announced he and his wife Cheryl will assume the responsibilities of promoting Senoia Raceway beginning September.<br /> <br /> "Cheryl and I have talked about doing this, but never were serious until we heard that Tim (Moses) was going to step away," said Morris. "We made a deal with him to make sure the track ran into September. We will see how it goes and then make plans for next year."<br /> <br /> Tim Moses reopened Senoia Raceway five years ago when he leased the property from long-time owner Charlie Edwards. Moses lease runs out before the next season begins and he had run out of money and patience to complete the September schedule.<br /> <br /> "I grew weary of the negative comments from drivers on Facebook," said Moses. "I have always paid the purse we posted. Treated everyone fairly and equally. Done all I said I would do. Lost money on more events than made money. Then get hammered on social media. Maybe Glenn can do better than I."<br /> <br /> Morris did only third best on the race Saturday night finishing behind Thomaston's Shane Fulcher and Grantville's Austin Horton. But the third place run secured his second straight point's title in the track's fastest weekly division. Senoia's Joey Armistead was fourth followed by Locust Grove's Randy Brown, Jr.<br /> <br /> The fastest growing division in the area has been the motorcycle engine powered Legends cars that have been primarily an asphalt racing series in Georgia. Fourteen competitors showed up for battle on the 'bull ring' last weekend and Griffin's Bubba Harry outclassed the field. Harry won by a half lap while Cumming's Brian Wiemer, McDonough's Dwight Pilgram and Senoia's 12-year-old Joshua Hicks put on a show fighting for the runner-up spot. In the end, Wiemer would edge out Pilgram and Hicks while Fayetteville's John Ponzio crossed the finish line in fifth.<br /> <br /> Newnan's Parrish Duncan returned to victory lane as he notched his third win of the year in the Newnan Bonding B Cadets. Parrish out muscled Lake Spivey's Dow Kirkland and Newnan's Johnny Stinchcomb for the laurels.<br /> <br /> Joining these drivers in the winner's circle were Milner's Ben Wells in the Summit Racing Equipment Hobby Stocks, Griffin's David Johnson in the A1 Hydraulics Bomber and Harold Leath in the Senoia Drug Company Mini Stock.<br /> <br /> Senoia Raceway will remain dark this weekend as many of the staff members and drivers will be in Hampton for the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race weekend at Atlanta Motor Speedway.<br /> <br /> The track will return to action on Saturday, September 6, featuring racing in the Jodeco Auto Sales Late Model, Newnan Bonding B Cadet, Summit Racing Equipment Hobby Stock, A1 Hydraulic Bomber, Senoia Drug Company Mini Stock and the Legends Cars.<br /> <br /> There will also be a driver autograph session before the night's racing program begins.<br /> <br /> For more information, <a href="" target="_blank"></a>.<br /> <br /> <strong>Senoia Raceway - Senoia, GA</strong><br /> <strong> Race Results - August 23, 2014</strong><br /> <br /> <span style="text-decoration: underline;"><strong>Late Model</strong></span><br /> 1. Shane Fulcher<br /> 2. Austin Horton<br /> 3. Glenn Morris<br /> 4. Joey Armistead<br /> 5. Randy Brown<br /> 6. Trey Wood<br /> 7. Woody Woodruff<br /> 8. Clifton Moran<br /> <br /> <span style="text-decoration: underline;"><strong>B Cadet</strong></span><br /> 1. Parrish Duncan<br /> 2. Dow Kirkland<br /> 3. Johnny Stinchcomb<br /> 4. Chris Arnett<br /> 5. Bennie Croy<br /> 6. Andrew Moody<br /> 7. Jason Miller<br /> 8. Richard Goode<br /> <br /> <span style="text-decoration: underline;"><strong>Hobby Stock</strong></span><br /> 1. Ben Wells<br /> 2. Houston Hatchett<br /> 3. Chris Storey<br /> 4. Mike Jenkins<br /> <br /> <span style="text-decoration: underline;"><strong>Bomber</strong></span><br /> 1. David Johnson<br /> 2. Carley Arnett<br /> 3. Jim Jackson<br /> 4. Brandon Conner<br /> <br /> <span style="text-decoration: underline;"><strong>Mini Stock</strong></span><br /> 1. Harold Leath<br /> 2. Marc Leath<br /> 3. Alex Williams<br /> <br /> <span style="text-decoration: underline;"><strong>Legends</strong></span><br /> 1. Bubba Harry<br /> 2. Brian Wiemer<br /> 3. Dwight Pilgram<br /> 4. Joshua Hicks<br /> 5. John Ponzio<br /> 6. Tony Armbruster<br /> 7. Megan Younginer<br /> 8. Mike Younginer<br /> 9. Jason Treschl<br /> 10. Tina Johnson<br /> 11. Ronnie Pohland<br /> 12. Mike Kennedy<br /> 13. Mike Weed<br /> DNS: Chris Middleton
© Copyright 2017
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.