Wednesday October 18th, 2017 10:46AM

Battered race cars, bruised egos at Senoia Raceway

By Track PR
  Contact Editor
SENOIA, GA - Racers and race cars were battered and beat up after last weekend's racing action at Senoia Raceway in Senoia, GA. Some of that was planned with the annual Waterless Boat Race topping off a night of carnage on the 3/8 mile speedway. The two pile-ups in the Newnan Bonding B Cadets were not planned.<br /> <br /> "I want to apologize to all the drivers that was in the B- cadet race (Saturday) night," said Wesley Lyle on social media. "On my part of bad judgment to take actions into my own hands cause a lot of hard work and money for you and your teams. I am truly sorry for my actions."<br /> <br /> Bowden's Lyle reacted to an opening lap skirmish with his on track rival Jason Miller of Fayetteville. The duo started side by side on the front row and charged towards the flag stand at the drop of the green flag. Miller inched up the track pinching Lyle against the front stretch wall forcing him to slide behind Miller going into the first turn. Lyle retaliated by dumping Miller in front of the entire field of Newnan Bonding B Cadets coming out of turn two. The result was eight badly damaged race cars and tempers boiling.<br /> <br /> A second pile-up took place a few laps later when Miller and Newnan's Parrish Duncan tangled in the fourth turn. Three more cars piled into Miller and Duncan resulting in another round of clean-up and escalating anger.<br /> <br /> When the carnage finally ended, Duncan was in victory lane followed by Lyle and Newnan's Johnny Stinchcomb. Only Lyle and Stinchcomb came out of the event without some kind of damage to their race cars.<br /> <br /> Crashing continued in the Summit Racing Equipment Hobby Stocks when Senoia's David Stover climbed the back stretch wall and then bounced off the track exit gate. Stover was driving the car for the first time.<br /> <br /> Current Hobby Stock points leader, Houston Hatchett of Williamson, was able to wrestle away the lead position and nab his sixth feature win of the season. Concord's Todd Hatchett was second ahead of Milner's Ben Wells.<br /> <br /> The scariest accident of the night occurred in the Legends Car main event. Fayetteville's John Ponzio lost control of his racer in the front stretch and shot up the track only to collect Meghan Younginer of Locust Grove. Younginer then slammed into the outside turn one wall. Both drivers walked from their race cars, but both were out of the race.<br /> <br /> Douglasville's James Stansel went on to win his second straight feature for the Legends Cars. Locust Grove's Chris Middleton was second ahead of Senoia's Tina Johnson in third.<br /> <br /> Newnan's Craig Scott claimed the victory in the Jodeco Auto Sales Late Models while Griffin's Alex Rudolph won his first career feature in the A1 Hydraulics Bomber. Harold Leath, also from Griffin, claimed another win for the Senoia Drug Company Mini Stocks.<br /> <br /> Senoia Raceway is back in action with the Summer Sizzler this weekend. A special extended lap feature offering bonus money to the Hobby Stock division will headline the racing action. The Jodeco Auto Sales Late Models, Newnan Bonding B Cadets, A1 Hydraulics Bomber, Senoia Drug Company and the Legends Cars will join the Summit Racing Equipment Hobby Stocks this Saturday, August 9.<br /> <br /> For more information, visit the Senoia Raceway website at <a href="" target="_blank"></a>.<br /> <br /> <strong>Senoia Raceway - Senoia, GA</strong><br /> <strong> Race Results - August 2, 2014</strong><br /> <br /> <span style="text-decoration: underline;"><strong>Late Models</strong></span><br /> 1. Craig Scott<br /> 2. Trey White<br /> 3. Glenn Morris<br /> 4. Jayce Southwell<br /> 5. Joey Armistead<br /> <br /> <span style="text-decoration: underline;"><strong>B Cadet</strong></span><br /> 1. Parrish Duncan<br /> 2. Wesley Lyle<br /> 3. Johnny Stinchcomb<br /> 4. Jason Miller<br /> 5. Donald Doyle<br /> 6. Robert Chandler<br /> 7. Bennie Croy<br /> 8. Roger Arnett<br /> 9. Dow Kirkland<br /> 10. T.J. Joiner<br /> <br /> <span style="text-decoration: underline;"><strong>Hobby Stock</strong></span><br /> 1. Houston Hatchett<br /> 2. Todd Hatchett<br /> 3. Ben Wells<br /> 4. Jonathan Archer<br /> 5. David Stover<br /> 6. Scott Sherrer<br /> <br /> <span style="text-decoration: underline;"><strong>Bomber</strong></span><br /> 1. Alex Rudoplh<br /> 2. John Holcomb<br /> 3. Jim Jackson<br /> 4. David Johnson<br /> 5. Pappy Powell<br /> 6. Michael Lilly<br /> <br /> <span style="text-decoration: underline;"><strong>Mini Stock</strong></span><br /> 1. Harold Leath<br /> 2. Allen Barber<br /> 3. Ross Baines<br /> <br /> <span style="text-decoration: underline;"><strong>Legends Cars</strong></span><br /> 1. James Stansel<br /> 2. Chris Middleton<br /> 3. Tina Johnson<br /> 4. Spencer Moseley<br /> 5. John Ponzio<br /> 6. Megan Younginer<br /> 7. Bubba Harry
© Copyright 2017
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.