Saturday October 21st, 2017 4:39AM

Morris pads points kead with Senoia Late Model win

By Track PR
  Contact Editor
SENOIA, GA - Jodeco Auto Sales Late Model points leader Glenn Morris of Fayetteville continued his charge to a second straight championship with this third win of the season at Senoia Raceway Saturday night in Senoia, GA. Morris' win did not come easy, as Thomaston's Shane Fulcher led most of the race. Fulcher gave up the lead on lap 12 when his car lost power and dropped to the infield pit area.<br /> <br /> "We found more speed with our car's set-up," Morris explained. "The car rolls through the corners faster which keeps the speed up in the straights. Other guys have a lot more motor than we do."<br /> <br /> Phenix City, AL's Dana Eiland came home second to Morris while LaGrange's Dusty Jones battled throughout the 20 lap main with Columbus hot shoe Pat Wall. Jones passed Wall for good with only three circuits remaining to get a top three finish. Wall was fourth followed by LaGrange's Tod Darda.<br /> <br /> In Newnan Bonding B Cadet action, former champion Thomas Mewborn rode the high side in the preliminary heat races to gain a front row outside starting position and then used that same groove to snare a lead that he would never let go during the feature race. Mewborn left the racing to the drivers in chase with Alabama's Roger Arnett in a dog fight with Bowden's Wesley Lyle.<br /> <br /> Arnett would gain an inside run on Lyle several times during the 20-lap race. But each time Arnett would run alongside his door, Lyle would slam the door shut. The crowd was cheering both drivers through the end of the race with Lyle edging out Arnett for the runner-up position.<br /> <br /> The race for fourth and fifth was almost as intense with Newnan's Parrish Duncan racing against Lake Spivey's Dow Kirkland. This duo also raced side by side on several occasions with Duncan winning the final drag race to the checkers.<br /> <br /> Intense racing led to some wild crashes and bent race cars in the Summit Racing Equipment Hobby Stock.<br /> <br /> Ben Wells led the race until the halfway point when Williamson's Houston Hatchett passed him for the lead. One lap after taking the lead, Hatchett lost control of his ride and spun out causing a caution. A hard charging Mike Jenkins bounced off a couple of cars and ended running nearly head on into the turn four outside wall. That crash ended Jenkins night and sent Hatchett to the back of the pack.<br /> <br /> Four laps later, Hatchett was climbing back to the front of the field when he slipped up the track and hopped on to the Camaro driven by Kerry Carden of Brooks. The two drivers ended up sliding down the track and coming to rest along the inside back stretch wall. Hatchett's car rested on top of the hood of Carden.<br /> <br /> Wells held off the final challenge by Alabama's Chris Storey for his first career win at Senoia. Jonathan Archer of Griffin closed out the top three finishers.<br /> <br /> In the A1 Hydraulic Bombers, Mike Ray led at the drop of the green flag. Ray moved out to the good lead while a three car feud between Griffin's John Holcomb and Alex Rudolph and Senoia's Winford Minix. Holcomb, Rudolph and Minix traded bumps and positions for half of the race before Holcomb finally broke loose to chase down Ray.<br /> <br /> Holcomb powered past Ray with four laps remaining and never looked back winning his fourth feature of the season. Ray finished second ahead of Rudolph in third. Griffin's David Johnson was fourth followed by 89-year-old Pappy Powell of Hogansville.<br /> <br /> Senoia Drug Company Mini Stock points leader Harold Leath padded his points lead with his fifth win of the season.<br /> <br /> Senoia Raceway is back in action on Aug. 2, featuring action from the Jodeco Auto Sales Late Models, Newnan Bonding B Cadets, Summit Racing Equipment Hobby Stocks, A1 Hydraulics Bomber, Senoia Drug Company and the Legends Cars, as well as the fan favorite Waterless Boat Race.<br /> <br /> For more information, visit <a href="" target="_blank"></a>.<br /> <br /> <strong>Senoia Raceway - Senoia, GA</strong><br /> <strong> Race Results - July 26, 2014</strong><br /> <br /> <span style="text-decoration: underline;"><strong>Late Models</strong></span><br /> 1. Glenn Morris<br /> 2. Dana Eiland<br /> 3. Dusty Jones<br /> 4. Pat Wall<br /> 5. Tod Darda<br /> 6. Jayce Southwell<br /> 7. Shane Fulcher<br /> 8. Marc Gooden<br /> 9. Craig Scott<br /> <br /> <span style="text-decoration: underline;"><strong>B Cadets</strong></span><br /> 1. Thomas Mewborn<br /> 2. Wesley Lyle<br /> 3. Roger Arnett<br /> 4. Parrish Duncan<br /> 5. Dow Kirkland<br /> 6. Robert Chandler<br /> 7. Don Doyal<br /> 8. Bennie Croy<br /> 9. Chris Holt<br /> <br /> <span style="text-decoration: underline;"><strong>Hobby Stocks</strong></span><br /> 1. Ben Wells<br /> 2. Chris Storey<br /> 3. Jonathan Archer<br /> 4. Kerry Carden<br /> 5. Houston Hatchett<br /> 6. Mike Jenkins<br /> 7. Todd Hatchett<br /> <br /> <span style="text-decoration: underline;"><strong>Bombers</strong></span><br /> 1. John Holcomb<br /> 2. Mike Ray<br /> 3. Alex Rudolph<br /> 4. David Johnson<br /> 5. Pappy Powell<br /> 6. Jim Jackson<br /> 7. Joel Smith<br /> 8. Winford Minix<br /> DNS: George Purgason<br /> <br /> <span style="text-decoration: underline;"><strong>Mini Stocks</strong></span><br /> 1. Harold Leath<br /> 2. Brandon Brock<br /> DNS: Brandon Creech, Ross Baines
© Copyright 2017
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.