Tuesday October 24th, 2017 7:12AM

Holloway posts first B Cadet win of season at Senoia

By Track PR
  Contact Editor
SENOIA, GA - Paul 'Cowboy' Holloway finally put all the pieces together and all the chips fell his way as he picked up his first feature win of the season at Senoia Raceway in Senoia, GA on Saturday night. The Hampton veteran topped the field of Newnan Bonding B Cadets while Senoia's Gary Brand bested the Summit Racing Equipment Hobby Stocks to win his first main event of the season as well. The action packed event featured some of the best racing this season and some of the worst accidents.<br /> <br /> Locust Grove's Billy Stevenson was involved in a wild wreck near the halfway point of the Legends Car feature race. Stevenson clipped the front stretch wall and then barrel-rolled several times before coming to a rest on his wheels at the top of turn one. The crash hushed the crowd until a hobbled Stevenson emerged from the wreckage. Stevenson was taken to an area hospital where he was treated and released.<br /> <br /> Crashes marred a good race in the Summit Racing Equipment Hobby Stocks, too. The race was slowed several times for cautions before being shortened to 15 laps. Grantville's Ronnie Thacker nearly destroyed his race car after a pair of drivers tangled in turn four. Thacker was clipped when the drivers tried to correct their cars. That touch sent Thacker up the track and almost head-on into the front stretch wall.<br /> <br /> When the dust settled, Brand had his first victory of the season. Franklin's Chris Steele was second ahead of Brooks' Kerry Carden. It was Carden's best finish since he rolled his car three times down the front stretch in May.<br /> <br /> The night's craziest finish came in the A1 Hydraulics Bomber division feature. Alvaton's Jay Conner led the field flag to flag for the win, but as he crossed the line Senoia's Winford Minix and Dustin Smith were racing side by side in turn three and four with Griffin's John Holcomb trying to hold them back. Holcomb lost control of his ride sliding down the track. Minix spun to try and avoid Holcomb as did Smith. While all three drivers tried to get their cars going forward and cross the finish line, Zebulon's Jim Jackson weaved in and around the spun traffic to finish a career high second place. Smith ended up moving across the line third with Holcomb fourth and Minix fifth.<br /> <br /> Holloway topped the Newnan Bonding B Cadets with this first win of the season. Holloway jumped to the inside of Newnan's Parrish Duncan with only a few laps remaining to steal away the lead position and then held off all of Duncan's challenges to retake the lead. Duncan settled for second ahead of Lake Spivey's Dow Kirkland and Hampton's Richard Goode.<br /> <br /> Alabama's Dana Eiland held off Austin Horton for the victory in the Jodeco Auto Sales Late Models. LaGrange's Dennis Hale passed the most cars and nabbed a third place finish while Roopville rookie contender Clifton Moran was fourth. LaGrange's Dusty Jones completed the top five.<br /> <br /> Douglasville's James Stansel was the winner in the Legends Car feature. It was the second straight victory for Stansel since hopping into the seat of a Legends Car.<br /> <br /> Griffin's Harold Leath won the Senoia Drug Company Mini Stock feature while Carrollton's Aubrey Merritt was the man to beat in the Modified Mini.<br /> <br /> Senoia Raceway returns to action on July 5 with racing in the Jodeco Auto Sales Late Model, Summit Racing Equipment Hobby Stock, Senoia Drug Company Mini Stock, A1 Hydraulics Bomber, Modified Mini and the special Firecracker 30 for the Newnan Bonding B Cadets.<br /> <br /> For more information, visit <a href="" target="_blank"></a>.<br /> <br /> <strong>Senoia Raceway - Senoia, GA</strong><br /> <strong> Race Results - June 28, 2014</strong><br /> <br /> <span style="text-decoration: underline;"><strong>Late Models</strong></span><br /> 1. Dana Eiland<br /> 2. Austin Horton<br /> 3. Dennis Hale<br /> 4. Clifton Moran<br /> 5. Dusty Jones<br /> 6. Marcus Caswell<br /> 7. Hunter Worley<br /> 8. Tod Darda<br /> 9. Corey Smith<br /> 10. Glenn Morris<br /> 11. Jamie Carr<br /> <br /> <span style="text-decoration: underline;"><strong>B Cadets</strong></span><br /> 1. Paul Holloway<br /> 2. Parrish Duncan<br /> 3. Dow Kirkland<br /> 4. Richard Goode<br /> 5. David Osbahr<br /> 6. Jason Miller<br /> 7. Wesley Lyle<br /> 8. Bennie Croy<br /> DNS: Blake Griffin, Craig Scott, Don Doyle<br /> <br /> <span style="text-decoration: underline;"><strong>Hobby Stocks</strong></span><br /> 1. Gary Brand<br /> 2. Chris Steele<br /> 3. Kerry Carden<br /> 4. Mike Jenkins<br /> 5. Jonathan Arher<br /> 6. Houston Hatchett<br /> 7. Ben Wells<br /> 8. Chad Foster<br /> 9. Ronnie Thacker<br /> DNS: Ben Steele<br /> <br /> <span style="text-decoration: underline;"><strong>Mini Stocks</strong></span><br /> 1. Harold Leath<br /> 2. Gary Parker<br /> 3. Brandon Libri<br /> 4. Cassie Dingler. Still<br /> <br /> <span style="text-decoration: underline;"><strong>Bombers</strong></span><br /> 1. Jay Conner<br /> 2. Jim Jackson<br /> 3. Dustin Smith<br /> 4. John Holcomb<br /> 5. Winford Minix<br /> 6. Alex Rudolph<br /> 7. Bobby Arnold<br /> 8. Mike Lilly<br /> 9. Joel Smith<br /> <br /> <span style="text-decoration: underline;"><strong>Modified Mini</strong></span><br /> 1. Aubrey Merrit<br /> 2. Dorough Bright<br /> 3. Alan Brewster<br /> <br /> <span style="text-decoration: underline;"><strong>Legends Cars</strong></span><br /> 1. James Stansel<br /> 2. Chris Middleton<br /> 3. Meghan Younginer<br /> 4. Tim Guy<br /> 5. Billy Stevenson<br /> 6. Mike Younginer
© Copyright 2017
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.