Wednesday September 20th, 2017 2:23PM

Brock bests Libri for Senoia Raceway Mini-Stock victory

By Track PR
  Contact Editor
SENOIA - Sixteen year old Brandon Brock of Hampton showed a veteran's poise as he held off challenges from 17-year-old Newnan high schooler Brandon Libri in the Senoia Drug Company Mini Stock feature Saturday night at Senoia Raceway in Senoia, GA. The dueling teenagers put on quite the show for the fans and shared a glimpse of the track's future stars.<br /> <br /> "He (Libri) raced me clean," said Brock afterwards. "That was a fun race."<br /> <br /> Dennis Hale of Lagrange made it two in a row, joining Brock in the winner's circle. Hale topped the Jodeco Auto Sales for the second straight week. Alabama's Roger Arnett picked up the checkered flag in the Newnan Bonding B Cadet while Houston Hatchett notched the victory in the Summit Racing Equipment Hobby Stock. Winford Minix won the special extended lap feature for the A1 Hydraulics Bomber.<br /> <br /> The highlight of the night was the battle between Brock and Libri. The high schoolers ran first and second for the almost the entire race leaving veterans Dorough Bright of Newnan and Gary Parker of Barnesville nearly a straightaway behind. Brock would keep Libri at bay winning for the second time this season while Libri was held out of victory lane in second. Libri is still waiting for his first trip to the winner's circle.<br /> <br /> Winford Minix bolted to the lead of the A1 Hydraulics Bomber feature. The Senoia driver pushed his 'purple power' Camaro to a large lead over Alabama's Chris Arnett and Alavaton's Jay Conner. Arnett and Conner were locked in a classic battle as Conner tried everything to get past the crafty short tracker. After 20 laps of trying, Minix picked up the win with Arnett holding off Conner for second.<br /> <br /> The Arnett Racing Team was victorious in Newnan Bonding B Cadet feature as defending points champion Roger Arnett topped the field. Arnett jumped out front early and posted the win over Lagrange's Chad Wallace and Hampton's Paul Holloway.<br /> <br /> Lagrange's Dennis Hale made it two straight wins in the Jodeco Auto Sales Late Models. Hale continued his winning ways by keeping Fayetteville's Glenn Morris behind him the entire 20 laps. Morris finished second to Hale the previous week during the Country Financial Father's Day Late Model Shoot-Out as well. Senoia's Clint 'Cat Daddy' Smith finished in third ahead of Roopville's Clifton 'Hog Head' Moran and Brooks Jayce Southwell.<br /> <br /> Williamson's Houston Hatchett debuted a new race car in Saturday night;a Hobby Stock feature, as he wrecked his car the previous week. Hatchett piloted the new mount to a flag to flag victory over Griffin's Chad Foster and Grantville's Ronnie Thacker. The race was red-flagged at the initial green flag after a six car pile up blocked the track in turn one.<br /> <br /> The Modified Mini feature also had a pile-up at the onset of their feature race. Villa Rica's Allen Brewster and Carrollton's Dusty Smith locked up in the first turn and ended the night for Brewster. That also caused the end of the event as Brewster and Smith were the only two entries in a division that continues to struggle to survive.<br /> <br /> Senoia Raceway cranks back up this Saturday, June 28, as the track hosts a family favorite, Kids Rides in the Race Cars.<br /> <br /> <strong>Senoia Raceway - Senoia, GA</strong><br /> <strong> Race Results - June 26, 2014</strong><br /> <br /> <span style="text-decoration: underline;"><strong>Late Models</strong></span><br /> 1. Dennis Hale<br /> 2. Glenn Morris<br /> 3. Clint Smith<br /> 4. Clifton Moran<br /> 5. Jayce Southwell<br /> DNS: Corey Payton<br /> <br /> <span style="text-decoration: underline;"><strong>B Cadets</strong></span><br /> 1. Roger Arnett<br /> 2. Chad Wallace<br /> 3. Paul Holloway<br /> 4. Jason Miller<br /> 5. Benton Morris<br /> 6. Bennie Croy<br /> 7. Buck Ussery<br /> 8. Dow Kirkland<br /> 9. David Osbahr<br /> DQ: Craig Scott<br /> <br /> <span style="text-decoration: underline;"><strong>Hobby Stock</strong></span><br /> 1. Houston Hatchett<br /> 2. Chad Foster<br /> 3. Ronnie Thacker<br /> 4. Ben Wells<br /> 5. Mike Jenkins<br /> 6. Bryson Ussery<br /> 7. Chris Steele<br /> 8. Gary Brand<br /> 9. Ben Steele<br /> 10. Wayne Scott<br /> 11. Lee McElwaney<br /> <br /> <span style="text-decoration: underline;"><strong>Mini Stocks</strong></span><br /> 1. Brandon Brock<br /> 2. Brandon Libri<br /> 3. Dorough Bright<br /> 4. Gary Parker<br /> 5. Harold Leath<br /> 6. Brandon Bright<br /> <br /> <span style="text-decoration: underline;"><strong>Bombers</strong></span><br /> 1. Winford Minix<br /> 2. Chris Arnett<br /> 3. Jay Conner<br /> 4. John Holcomb<br /> 5. Jonathan Morris<br /> 6. Bobby Arnold<br /> 7. Jonathan Hemmings
© Copyright 2017
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.