Tuesday September 19th, 2017 6:20PM

Bolen, South split Montgomery Pro Late Model features

By Jason Mayhan
  Contact Editor
MONTGOMERY, AL - Josh Bolen and Justin South both made their way to victory lane in the twin 50 lap Pro Late Model features Saturday night at Montgomery Motor Speedway in Montgomery, AL.<br /> <br /> In the first feature, Bill Bethea III set fast time in qualifying, but the inversion put Texas racer Bayley Curry and Bolen on the front row. Bolen wasted no time pushing his Robbie White race engines Chevy Impala SS to the lead. The fans saw some of the cleanest and closest late model racing of the year as South dogged Bolen the entire race, as he looked for daylight several times. Lap 49 saw the battle get really hot as the pair made contact on the back stretch, almost ending the race for the top spot contenders. Both were able to keep their racecars pointing towards the finish line and the 50 lap contest finished with no cautions, as Bolen scored the win. South held on for second, with Chase Oliver in third, Bethea III in fourth and Kyle McCallum in fifth.<br /> <br /> The second Pro Late Model feature saw Bolen move to the early lead. The caution flew on lap 3 when Bethea and South got together in turn 2. Both drove away with only minor damage. On the restar,t Bolen didn't quite get up to speed, causing the inside lane to bunch up, sending Kyle McCallum for a wild ride up and over Chuck Tuck's car, causing McCallum to make contact with the inside wall. Back under green, Chris Serio moved to the lead on lap nine. On lap 29, Bethea moved his way into the lead as Chase Oliver gave chase. Oliver took the lead on lap 31 and powered his machine out front until South, recovering from that early spin, worked his way into the lead on lap 39. South went on to score the win, with Curry in second, Oliver in third, Bolen in fourth and Ryan Redmon in fifth.<br /> <br /> In other action, Nicholas Doehring started on the pole for the Modified Mini feature, and got quite a shove from Chris Landers. Joel Collier jumped out to the lead and held the position untill lap 10 until Chris Landers took the top spot. Landers went on to score the victory, with Collier in second and Doehring in third.<br /> <br /> The Uncle Bob's Self Storage Street Stocks were next. Dwayne Wesenberg wasted no time wrestling the lead spot from the other competitors and was stretching it out until an early caution bunched the field back up. During the caution, Chance Atkins headed to the pits with an ingnition box issue, and returned to restart third. Back under green, Atkins moved to the lead, and on the final lap, had to work to hold off Dwayne Wesenberg to be first to the checkered flag. But Atkins car failed post race inspection giving Dwayne Wesenberg the victory. Kamerson Wesenberg finished in second, with Brad Edwards in third and Josh Wilson in fourth.<br /> <br /> Montgomery Motor Speedway is back in action on June 28 as the Southern Super Series returns for the Yellowhammer 125.<br /> <br /> <strong>Montgomery Motor Speedway - Montgomery, AL</strong><br /> <strong> Race Results - June 14, 2014</strong><br /> <br /> <span style="text-decoration: underline;"><strong>Pro Late Model Race 1</strong></span><br /> 1. John Bolen<br /> 2. Justin South<br /> 3. Chase Oliver<br /> 4. Bill Bethea III<br /> 5. Kyle McCallum<br /> 6. Chris Serio<br /> 7. Jorden McCallum<br /> 8. Ryan Redmon<br /> 9. Chuck Tuck<br /> 10. Bayley Curry<br /> 11. Rusty Sanford<br /> 12. Bobby Knox, Jr.<br /> <br /> <span style="text-decoration: underline;"><strong>Pro Late Model Race 2</strong></span><br /> 1. Justin South<br /> 2. Bayley Curry<br /> 3. Chase Oliver<br /> 4. John Bolen<br /> 5. Ryan Redmon<br /> 6. Rusty Sanford<br /> 7. Jordan McCallum<br /> 8. Chuck Tuck<br /> 9. Chris Serio<br /> 10. Bill Bethea III<br /> 11. Kyle McCallum<br /> DNS: Bobby Knox, Jr.<br /> <br /> <span style="text-decoration: underline;"><strong>Modified Minis</strong></span><br /> 1. Chris Landers<br /> 2. Joel Collier<br /> 3. Nicholas Doehring<br /> <br /> <span style="text-decoration: underline;"><strong>Street Stocks</strong></span><br /> 1. Dwayne Wesenberg<br /> 2. Kameron Wesenberg<br /> 3. Brad Edwards<br /> 4. Josh Wilson<br /> DQ: Chance Atkins
© Copyright 2017
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.