Sunday September 24th, 2017 1:33PM

Osbahr clams first B Cadet victory at Senoia Raceway

By Track PR
  Contact Editor
SENOIA - Alabama's David Osbahr put his name in the Senoia Raceway record books last weekend when he claimed his first career B Cadet victory at the 3/8 mile Senoia, GA bull ring. Covington's Sam 'Bam' Carter also notched his first Hobby Stock win along with Palmetto's Josh Roddy in Bomber action. Locust Grove's Megahn Younginer became the first female to win a feature at the speedway by in the Legends Car special.

The tight, tough to tame clay oval has seen more first time winners this season than any other year since it returned to dirt in 2010.

In the Newnan Bonding B Cadet feature, Osbahr finished third a week earlier after battling with veteran short track racer Paul 'Cowboy' Holloway of Hampton. This week Osbahr got the advantage and held back Holloway for the victory. Holloway has fallen into a streak of coming up second for the past several weeks. Jonesboro's Jason Miller ended up third and closed the gap on points leader Johnny Stinchcomb of Newnan.

The story was similar in the Summit Racing Equipment Hobby Stock main as Carter claimed the victory after falling short a week earlier. Carter held off a hard charging Chris Steele of Franklin. Steele was making his first appearance of the season at Senoia Raceway and looked very strong battling with Carter and current points leader Houston 'Hoot Daddy' Hatchett of Williamson. Hatchett ended up third ahead of Brooks Kerry Carden and Locust Grove's Wilson Boozer.

Action in the A1 Hydraulics Bomber division has been some of the best this season and Saturday night's winner Josh Roddy was welcomed into the mix of front runners. Roddy mixed it up with early season winners John Holcomb of Griffin, Dustin Smith of Senoia and Mike Ray.

When the checkers flew, Roddy was the newest victor with Holcomb settling for second ahead of another strong challenger, Winford Minix of Senoia. Smith and Ray rounded out the first five across the finish line.

Younginer found her way to victory lane by taming the Legends Car competition. The 16 year old young lady bested Christopher Middleton of Covington and former national Legends Car champion Bubba Harry of Griffin. It was the first time a woman has won an event at Senoia Raceway since Morgan Turpen won a sprint car race two years ago, but this was the first time a female won a local feature event since it's return to dirt.

Newnan's Bobby 'Wild Child' Arnold continued his title defense in the Senoia Drug Company Mini Stocks winning the feature over nearest points challenger Brandon Bright, also from Newnan. Brandon Libri made it a trio of Newnan competitors topping the field.

LaGrange's Tod Darda returned to victory lane in the Jodeco Auto Sales Late Models. Darda finished ahead of Thomaston's Shane Fulcher and Fayetteville's Glenn Morris. Roopville's Clifton 'Hog Head' Moran finished fourth while Corey Payton nabbed a top five.

Carrollton's Dustin Smith won the three car Modified Mini race.

The stock car racing action continues this Saturday, May 10 with all six weekly divisions featured. A special Mother's Day Mini Stock race is slated offering the four cylinder competitors an opportunity for some extra cash and big trophies.

Senoia Raceway - Senoia, GA
Race Results - May 3, 2014

Late Model
1. Tod Darda
2. Shane Fulcher
3. Glenn Morris
4. Clifton Moran
5. Corey Payton
6. Michael Hammett
7. Randy Brown
8. Craig Scott
9. Russ Ogletree
10. Hunter Worley
DNS: Matt Dooley
DNQ: Steven Nicholson

B Cadet
1. David Osbahr
2. Paul Holloway
3. Jason Miller
4. Bennie Croy
5. Johnny Stinchcomb
DNS: Blake Griffin, Zach Privette, Melissa Still

Hobby Stock
1. Sam Carter
2. Chris Steele
3. Houston Hatchett
4. Kerry Carden
5. Wilson Boozer
6. Mike Jenkins
7. Kevin Horton
8. Ben Wells
DNS: Bill Pitt, Todd Hatchett, William Blair

Mini Stock
1. Bobby Arnold
2. Brandon Bright
3. Brandon Libri
4. Brandon Brock
5. Harold Leath
6. Cassie Dingler
7. Gary Parker

1. Josh Roddy
2. John Holcomb
3. Winford Minix
4. Dustin Smith
5. Mike Ray
6. Carley Arnett
7. Alex Rudolph
8. Greg Youngblood

Modified Mini
1. Dustin Smith
2. Aubrey Merrit
3. Dorough Bright

Legends Car
1. Meghan Younginer
2. Christopher Middleton
3. Bubba Harry
4. Mike Younginer
5. Tony Armbruster
6. John Ponzio
7. William Stevenson
© Copyright 2017
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.