Sunday May 29th, 2016 6:05AM

Timms scores first Late Model victory at Hartwell Speedway

By Heather Rhoades
Related Articles
  Contact Editor
HARTWELL - Dale Timms started off the night by shattering the track record in the SECA Late Model division in qualifying at Hartwell Speedway in Hartwell, GA Saturday.

He wrapped up the evening by scoring the win in the feature, beating Adam Smith to the checkered flag for the victory.

Timms' fast qualifying time would position him on the inside pole for the feature, with Smith, who had two division wins so far this season, starting alongside.

At the drop of the green Timms powered to the top spot. Smith wasted no time zeroing in on the back bumper of Timms' racer, and within a few laps managed to work his way alongside to challenge for the lead. This side by side action opened the door for Grant Jordan to move into the fight for the lead from third place.

Jordan would begin challenging Smith for second, allowing Timms to move away. From there, Timms was on cruise control, as he went on to score his first Late Model win at Hartwell. Smith would hold off Jordan to finish in second. Chris Cape finished in fourth, with Nick Deitz in fifth.

In other action, Brandon "Cornbread" Haley held off Keith Freeman to score the Limited Late Model victory. Stephen Segars came home in third, with Bubba Russell in fourth.

Tyrone Anglin picked up the win in the Stock V8 feature. Cal Moon rolled across the finish line in second, with Terry Brown in third, Holley Bales in fourth and Rocky Jones in fifth.

In Modified Street action, John Teasley beat out Jack Hill for the feature win. Stephen Segars, Kole Hardy and Michael Segars rounded out the top five.

Adam Partain continued his dominance in the Young Guns division, as he scored another feature win. Payton Freeman finished in second, with Jeremy Hicks in third, Jessica Still in fourth and Travis Hubbard in fifth.

Cy Strickland topped the Stock Four Cylinder field to pick up the victory over Shane Stickland. Mason Tucker finished in third, with Chris Wilson fourth and Henry Vaughn in fifth.

Scott Isabell came home with the win in the Up Front feature, with Wayne Chapman coming in second, Travis Barbare in third, Chris Hill in fourth and Michael Mosley in fifth.

Hartwell Speedway returns to action on Saturday, April 12. For more info, visit

Hartwell Speedway - Hartwell, GA
Race Results - April 5, 2014

SECA Late Model
1. #07 Dale Timms
2. #14 Adam Smith
3. #05 Grant Jordan
4. #5 Chris Cape
5. #22 Nick Deitz
6. #8 Rodney Peters
7. #28 Greg Pilgram
8. #84 Brain Grumbles
9. #88 Ricky Smith
10. #107 Dustin Mincey
11. #18 Jimmy Motes
DNS: #D5 Drew Collins DNS

Limited Late Model
1. #51 Brandon Haley
2. #F1 Keith Freeman
3. #6 Stephen Segars
4. #32 Bubba Russell
DNS: #53 Chad Puckett

Modified Street
1. #87 John Teasley
2. #0 Jack Hill
3. #64 Stephen Segars
4. #30 Kole Hardy
5. #1 Michael Segars
6. #34 Butch Shepherd
7. #149 O'Neal Capps
8. #J19 Jennifer Everett
9. #4 Terry Calhoun
10. #1B Sammy Calhoun
11. #22 Wayne Scott
12. #25 Paul Byrum
13. #33 Aaron McIntosh

Young Guns
1. #87 Adam Partain
2. #F1 Payton Freeman
3. #1 Jeremy Hicks
4. #08 Jessica Still
5. #8 Travis Hubbard
6. #5 Mallarie Burdette
7. #59 Jonathan Cheeseman

Stock Four Cylinder
1. #119 Cy Strickland
2. #19 Shane Strickland
3. #23 Mason Tucker
4. #6 Chris Wilson
5. #11 Henry Vaughn
6. #104 Dustin Bales
7. #23A Jeffery Lord
8. #33 Shannon Duck
9. #51 Jonathan Colley
10. #5 Name Not Available
11. #12 Kenny Phillips
12. #28 Brent Couch

Stock V8
1. #91 Tyrone Anglin
2. #69 Cal Moon
3. #9 Terry Brown
4. #2 Holley Bales
5. #101 Rocky Jones
6. #27 George Fortson
7. #22 Ray Foskey
8. #96 Biscuit Shaw
9. #51 Randy Shaw

Up Front
1. #33 Scott Isabell
2. #73 Wayne Chapman
3. #21 Travis Barbare
4. #86 Chris Hill
5. #00k Michael Mosley
6. #27 Steven Powell
7. #3 Tony Hill
8. #89 Joel Powell
9. #8 Stacy Foster
10. #69 Jonathan Starrett
11. #7 Justin Raiden
12. #13 Clay Jones
13. #22 Corey Price
© Copyright 2016
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.
2014 Top 10: Looking back at the top sports stories of the year
It was another year for the record books in 2014, mostly for the right reasons -- state championships, new challenges and new stars taking their turn to shine. But there were also plenty of big stories that reminded us that sports -- like life -- isn
11:55PM ( 1 year ago )
NASCAR K&N Pro Series schedules set for 2015
DAYTONA BEACH, FL - NASCAR announced recently the 2015 schedules for its top developmental regional touring series, the NASCAR K&N Pro Series East and NASCAR K&N Pro Series West.
2:00PM ( 1 year ago )
Lanierland boys final: Johnson makes history with win over Red Elephants <b> (VIDEO) </b>
Ever the aggressor on the court, Johnson
8:55AM ( 1 year ago )
Pits will be tight as Chili Bowl entry count hits 316
TULSA, OK - The 29th annual Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Midget Nationals presented by General Tire is on track to be a record smashing event, with the entry count climbing over the 300 mark for the first time to 316 entries confirming 303 drivers for the indoor spectacular happening Tuesday, January 13 through Saturday, January 17 at the Tulsa Expo Center in Tulsa, OK.
9:59AM ( 1 year ago )
Falcons fire Mike Smith after 2nd straight losing season
Mike Smith's status as the winningest coach in Falcons history wasn't enough to save his job. Owner Arthur Blank said he fired Smith on Monday because in his "heart of hearts" he didn't believe Smith could take the Falcons to the Super Bowl.
7:58PM ( 1 year ago )
New promoters in place for 2015 at Senoia Raceway
SENOIA, GA - Lease papers have been signed and a team of new promoters is in place for the upcoming stock car racing season at Senoia Raceway in Senoia, GA.
6:00AM ( 1 year ago )
Professional Sports
Garbo, Jr. to compete in NASCAR K&N East with Whelen sponsorship
CHARLOTTE, NC--(BUSINESS WIRE)-- When Marsh Racing and longtime team sponsor Whelen Engineering Company, Inc. got the opportunity to put together a race team for 2015, they looked closely at the NASCAR K&N Pro Series East.
12:00PM ( 1 year ago )
Former NASCAR racer pleads guilty in high-speed chase
12:51PM ( 1 year ago )
Chili Bowl entry list again nearing record 300 mark
TULSA, OK - For the past couple years, the entry list for the Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals has flirted with the 300 mark. Once again, the number of teams registering for the indoor Midget event is nearing the three century mark with 285 entries received for the 29th annual Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals.
11:59AM ( 1 year ago )
Baseball: Panthers, Dragons dominate Region 8-AAA All-Region selections
Region 8-AAA continued to be a major player in Class AAA in 2016 with Jackson County getting within one win of the state championship round.
9:23AM ( 3 hours from now )
Baseball: 2016 Region 7-AAA All-Region team
After a rebounding season for Region 7-AAA as a whole, the 2016 Region 7-AAA All-Region baseball team was released on Friday.
8:10AM ( 2 hours from now )
Fresh tires propel Hamlin to Charlotte Xfinity win
In an event that bore notable similarities to the NASCAR Sprint All-Star Race a week earlier, Denny Hamlin won Saturday’s Hisense 300 NASCAR Xfinity Series race at Charlotte Motor Speedway with a pass on the final lap.
By Reid Spencer-NASCAR Wire Service
11:26PM ( 6 hours ago )
Braves beat Marlins 7-2 to lock up first home series win
Braves interim manager Brian Snitker says Gordon Beckham is "bouncing around like he's a teenager."
By The Associated Press
8:31PM ( 9 hours ago )
Golf: Ralston, Forrester amongst 11 area golfers named All-State
Gainesville's Spencer Ralston was named Class AAAAA boys player of the year, while North Hall's Bartley Forrester was named first team for Class AAAA boys in the 2016 Georgia High School Golf Coaches Association (GHSGCA) All-State team released this week.
By AccessWDUN Staff
7:19PM ( 10 hours ago )