Sunday August 30th, 2015 2:02AM

Bubba Pollard scores Pro Late Model victory at Mobile

By Staff
Related Articles
IRVINGTON, AL - Senoia, Georgia's Bubba Pollard had to work for it, but he finally out maneuvered Mike Garvey to win the season opener Pro Late Model feature Saturday night at Mobile International Speedway in Irvington, AL.

Harrison Burton grabbed an early lead and held it until lap 37, when Garvey, Pollard and Junior Niedecken led the train for a distance. Garvey held the lead in waning laps, with Pollard stalking him. Pollard made the move for the lead around Garvey on lap 75, then powered away for the victory.

Garvey came home in second, with Korey Ruble in third, Burton in fourth and Dustin Smith in fifth.

Garrett Jones, Steven Davis, Thomas Praytor, Ronnie Osmer and Elliott Massey rounded out the top 10.

In other action, Oakie Mason captured the win in the 15 lap Modified feature. Sal Herbert, Jr. finished in second, with Jacob Permenter in third, Mike Maddox in fourth and Billy Melvin in fifth.

In the Pro Trucks feature, young Riley Thornton outran the field to score the victory. Veteran racer Howard Langham finished in second, with Oakie Mason in third, Ricky Vice in fourth and Greg Leahman in fifth.

Brannon Fowler took the checkered flag first to pick up the win in the Sportsmen feature. Bob Bryant, Red Dog Reynolds, Howard Langham and Chad Robinson rounded out the top five.

In Bombers action, B.J. Letham grabbed another win at his home track. He won the early season feature as part of the ARCA weekend of racing, and came back a week later to take the regular season opener.

Jerry Goff finished in second, with Matt Jackson in third, Collin Kraft in fourth and Rusty Powell in fifth.

Action returns to Mobile International Speedway on April 12, with the Must See Racing Extreme Sprint Cars, Super Stocks, Sportsmen and Bombers.

Mobile International Speedway - Irvington, AL
Race Results - March 29, 2014

Pro Late Models
1. Bubba Pollard
2. Mike Garvey
3. Korey Ruble
4. Harrison Burton
5. Dustin Smith
6. Garrett Jones
7. Steven Davis
8. Thomas Praytor
9. Ronnie Osmer
10. Elliott Massey
11. Josh Bragg
12. Chuck Tuck
13. Bobby Baria
14. Junior Niedecken
15. Rusty Sanford
16. Brennon Willard
17. Anderson Bowen
18. Troy Grisaffi
19. Hunter Robbins

1. Oakie Mason
2. Sal Hebert, Jr.
3. Jacob Permenter
4. Mike Maddox
5. Billy Melvin

Pro Trucks
1. Riley Thornton
2. Howard Langham
3. Oakie Mason
4. Ricky Vice
5. Greg Leahman
6. Hollywood Hodivsky
7. Name Not Available
8. Don Tipton
9. Phillip Goudreault
10. Rick Tipton
11. Jay Jay Day
12. Kris Kahalley
13. Benny Bender

1. Brannon Fowler
2. Bob Bryant
3. Red Dog Reynolds
4. Howard Langham
5. Chad Robinson
6. James Patrick
7. Randy Thompson
8. Mark Barnhill
9. Steven Allday
10. Brandon Farmer

1. B.J. Letham
2. Jerry Goff
3. Matt Jackson
4. Collin Kraft
5. Rusty Powell
6. Donnie Phillips
7. Gene Denmark
8. Brad Mosley
9. Derek Long
10. Troy Bartlett
11. Mat Manuel
12. Robert Roper
13. Richard Graham
© Copyright 2015
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.
2014 Top 10: Looking back at the top sports stories of the year
It was another year for the record books in 2014, mostly for the right reasons -- state championships, new challenges and new stars taking their turn to shine. But there were also plenty of big stories that reminded us that sports -- like life -- isn
11:55PM ( 7 months ago )
NASCAR K&N Pro Series schedules set for 2015
DAYTONA BEACH, FL - NASCAR announced recently the 2015 schedules for its top developmental regional touring series, the NASCAR K&N Pro Series East and NASCAR K&N Pro Series West.
2:00PM ( 7 months ago )
Lanierland boys final: Johnson makes history with win over Red Elephants <b> (VIDEO) </b>
Ever the aggressor on the court, Johnson
8:55AM ( 7 months ago )
Pits will be tight as Chili Bowl entry count hits 316
TULSA, OK - The 29th annual Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Midget Nationals presented by General Tire is on track to be a record smashing event, with the entry count climbing over the 300 mark for the first time to 316 entries confirming 303 drivers for the indoor spectacular happening Tuesday, January 13 through Saturday, January 17 at the Tulsa Expo Center in Tulsa, OK.
9:59AM ( 7 months ago )
Falcons fire Mike Smith after 2nd straight losing season
Mike Smith's status as the winningest coach in Falcons history wasn't enough to save his job. Owner Arthur Blank said he fired Smith on Monday because in his "heart of hearts" he didn't believe Smith could take the Falcons to the Super Bowl.
7:58PM ( 8 months ago )
New promoters in place for 2015 at Senoia Raceway
SENOIA, GA - Lease papers have been signed and a team of new promoters is in place for the upcoming stock car racing season at Senoia Raceway in Senoia, GA.
6:00AM ( 8 months ago )
Professional Sports
Garbo, Jr. to compete in NASCAR K&N East with Whelen sponsorship
CHARLOTTE, NC--(BUSINESS WIRE)-- When Marsh Racing and longtime team sponsor Whelen Engineering Company, Inc. got the opportunity to put together a race team for 2015, they looked closely at the NASCAR K&N Pro Series East.
12:00PM ( 8 months ago )
Former NASCAR racer pleads guilty in high-speed chase
12:51PM ( 8 months ago )
Chili Bowl entry list again nearing record 300 mark
TULSA, OK - For the past couple years, the entry list for the Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals has flirted with the 300 mark. Once again, the number of teams registering for the indoor Midget event is nearing the three century mark with 285 entries received for the 29th annual Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals.
11:59AM ( 8 months ago )
Falcons sign Julio Jones to 5-year extension
The Atlanta Falcons agreed to a $71.25 million, five-year contract extension with Julio Jones on Saturday that compares favorably with recent deals paid to other top wide receivers.
By The Associated Press
8:46AM ( 6 hours from now )
Softball: Buford splits with S. Forsyth and Milton
The Buford girls softball team split a pair of games Saturday with South Forsyth and Milton in a yearly series between the three schools.
By AccessWDUN staff
7:06AM ( 5 hours from now )
Falcons fall to Dolphins in preseason
Ryan Tannehill threw for 145 yards in less than a half despite working behind a makeshift offensive line, and the Miami Dolphins beat the Atlanta Falcons 13-9 in an exhibition game Saturday night.
By The Associated Press
7:00AM ( 4 hours from now )
Severino, Yankees beat Braves 3-1; fan falls from upper deck
Rookie Luis Severino allowed only four hits in six scoreless innings to lead the New York Yankees to a 3-1 victory over Matt Wisler and the Atlanta Braves on Saturday night.
By The Associated Press
6:39AM ( 4 hours from now )
Menard wins in nail-biting Road America Xfinity finish
The decision to compete in Saturday afternoon’s NASCAR Xfinity Series sixth annual Road America 180 at Road America in Elkhart Lake, Wis. paid off in a huge way for Paul Menard who scored his third career Xfinity victory at his hometown track.
By Chris Knight-NASCAR Wire Service
11:41PM ( 2 hours ago )