Saturday November 28th, 2015 3:22PM

Justin Sorrow scores wild Late Model Stock opener at Anderson Motor Speedway

By Brandon Reed Reporter
WILLIAMSTON, SC - The first race of the new racing season is always exciting. But Friday night's opener at Anderson Motor Speedway in Williamston, SC went above and beyond the call of duty, topped with defending track Late Model Stock champion Justin Sorrow starting his season with a victory.

The Late Model Stock feature was action packed from start to finish. The first big moment occurred when Joe Wilder and Daniel Alvarez tangled coming off the second turn, sending Alvarez up and over, landing on his roof and sliding down the backstretch. Both drivers were okay, but their nights were over.

The next big incident occurred as leader Randy Porter and second place R.A. Brown worked to the inside of the lapped car of Lance Jones on the backstretch. Jones drifted down, making contact with the leaders, triggering a three car melee. All three cars were unable to continue.

The excitement wasn't over yet, as Dylan Hall clipped Kenneth Headen, sending Headen into the wall.

Sorrow worked his way through the trouble to score the victory. Ryan Shattuck finished in second, with David Roberts in third, Justin Milliken in fourth and Dylan Hall in fifth.

In other action, Chad Campbell beat out David Darnell to score the Mini-Stock feature victory. B.J. Thrasher came home in third, with Ben Kay in fourth and Luke Sorrow in fifth.

In Renegades action, Robin Darnell came away with the victory, with Steve Gutherie in second. Blake Gregory finished third, with Andrew Cordell in fourth and Chris Whitfield in fifth.

Alan Mitchell topped the field for the BM Modified feature win. Matt Meyer crossed the finish line in second, with Tim Stokes in third, Brandon Segars in fourth and Jamie Winslett in fifth.

In US Legends action, Riley Halverson beat out a strong field of competitors to take home the victory. Lee Jordan finished in second, with Rex Brown in third, Cory Parham in fourth and Trey Eidson in fifth.

Shaun Mize took a wild ride in the Front Wheel Drive feature, as his car flipped. He escaped injury. Meanwhile, Donovan Beacham scored the victory. B.J. Davis finished in second, with C.J. Huitt, Brian King and Terry Hawthorne rounding out the top five.

Anderson Motor Speedway is back in action on Friday, March 21, with action from the NASCAR Whelen All American Series Late Model Stocks, along with Mini-Stocks, US Legends, Renegades, Super Renegades and Front Wheel Drives.

Anderson Motor Speedway - Willamston, SC
Race Results - March 14, 2014

Late Model Stock
1. #9 Justin Sorrow
2. #52 Ryan Shattuck
3. #18 David Roberts
4. #02 Justin Milliken
5. #4 Dylan Hall
6. #97 Marty Ward
7. #35 Tasha Kummer
8. #99B Kenneth Headen
9. #36 Anthony Anders
10. #32 Randy Porter
11. #60 R.A. Brown
12. #99R Lance Jones
13. #83 Joey Brown
14. #14 Joe Wilder
15. #33 Daniel Alvarez
16. #3 Brandon Fox
17. #42 Jeremy Drummond

Mini Stocks
1. #17 Chad Campbell
2. #28 David Darnell
3. #19 BJ Thrasher
4. #71 Ben Kay
5. #9 Luke Sorrow

1. #4 Robin Darnell
2. #5 Steve Guthrie
3. #36 Blake Gregory
4. #33 Andrew Cordell
5. #1 Chris Whitfield
6. #71 Troy Carnes
7. #29 Bryan Beckner
8. #95 Mark Sullivan

BM Modifieds
1. #20 Alan Mitchell
2. #29 Matt Meyer
3. #7 Tim Stokes
4. #64 Brandon Segars
5. #88 Beany Gillespie
6. #38 Jamie Winslett

US Legends
1. #20 Riley Halverson
2. #81 Lee Jordan
3. #75 Rex Brown
4. #5 Cory Parham
5. #53 Trey Eidson
6. #32 Kevin Ellison
7. #00 Randy Gunton
8. #52 Craig Bruce
9. #21 Karl Moberg
10. #50 Justin Ashley
11. #18 Bernard Wilson
12. #7 Dwayne Rumsey
13. #28 Zack Skolnick
14. #15 Danny Cisson

Front Wheel Drive
1. #221 Donovan Beacham
2. #28 B.J. Davis
3. #73 C.J. Huitt
4. #7 Brian King
5. #95 Terry Hawthorne
6. #01 Robert Hall
7. #63 Jack Hooper
8. #4 Chris Harvell
9. #55 Casey Burkett
10. #97 Jim Fitzgerald
11. #98 J.T. Fitzgerald
12. #96 Brandi Presnell
13. #17 Chris Beacham
14. #8 Ricky Mann
15. #54 George Oliver
16. #69 Tommy Davis
17. #57 Johnny Satterfield
18. #18 Michael Bruton
© Copyright 2015
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.
2014 Top 10: Looking back at the top sports stories of the year
It was another year for the record books in 2014, mostly for the right reasons -- state championships, new challenges and new stars taking their turn to shine. But there were also plenty of big stories that reminded us that sports -- like life -- isn
11:55PM ( 10 months ago )
NASCAR K&N Pro Series schedules set for 2015
DAYTONA BEACH, FL - NASCAR announced recently the 2015 schedules for its top developmental regional touring series, the NASCAR K&N Pro Series East and NASCAR K&N Pro Series West.
2:00PM ( 10 months ago )
Lanierland boys final: Johnson makes history with win over Red Elephants <b> (VIDEO) </b>
Ever the aggressor on the court, Johnson
8:55AM ( 10 months ago )
Pits will be tight as Chili Bowl entry count hits 316
TULSA, OK - The 29th annual Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Midget Nationals presented by General Tire is on track to be a record smashing event, with the entry count climbing over the 300 mark for the first time to 316 entries confirming 303 drivers for the indoor spectacular happening Tuesday, January 13 through Saturday, January 17 at the Tulsa Expo Center in Tulsa, OK.
9:59AM ( 10 months ago )
Falcons fire Mike Smith after 2nd straight losing season
Mike Smith's status as the winningest coach in Falcons history wasn't enough to save his job. Owner Arthur Blank said he fired Smith on Monday because in his "heart of hearts" he didn't believe Smith could take the Falcons to the Super Bowl.
7:58PM ( 10 months ago )
New promoters in place for 2015 at Senoia Raceway
SENOIA, GA - Lease papers have been signed and a team of new promoters is in place for the upcoming stock car racing season at Senoia Raceway in Senoia, GA.
6:00AM ( 10 months ago )
Professional Sports
Garbo, Jr. to compete in NASCAR K&N East with Whelen sponsorship
CHARLOTTE, NC--(BUSINESS WIRE)-- When Marsh Racing and longtime team sponsor Whelen Engineering Company, Inc. got the opportunity to put together a race team for 2015, they looked closely at the NASCAR K&N Pro Series East.
12:00PM ( 11 months ago )
Former NASCAR racer pleads guilty in high-speed chase
12:51PM ( 11 months ago )
Chili Bowl entry list again nearing record 300 mark
TULSA, OK - For the past couple years, the entry list for the Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals has flirted with the 300 mark. Once again, the number of teams registering for the indoor Midget event is nearing the three century mark with 285 entries received for the 29th annual Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals.
11:59AM ( 11 months ago )
PLAYOFFS: Three goes into four, as area trio earn semifinal berths
Once the dust settled on Friday night, northeast Georgia found three teams still standing in the state football playoffs -- and it was so nearly four...
9:01AM ( 6 hours ago )
(VIDEO) Class AAAA: Buford stomps into ninth straight state semifinal
Were it any other team the number alone would seem absurd, but Buford football could care less about numbers at this time of year -- at least any number but "one."
By AccessWDUN Staff
8:58AM ( 6 hours ago )
(VIDEO) Class AAAAAA: Mill Creek routs Archer to advance to first semifinals
Mill Creek used a dominating defensive performance to whip Archer 23-0 and advance to its first-ever semifinals in a Class AAAAAA quarterfinal matchup Friday night at Mill Creek Community Stadium.
8:58AM ( 6 hours ago )
Class A Public: Road warrior Tigers march back into semifinals
The road keeps on getting longer -- and Commerce football is enjoying every second of the ride.
By AccessWDUN Staff
8:57AM ( 6 hours ago )
(VIDEO) Class AAA: Dawson's magical run ended by BT, Shelton
Dawson County football will never forget a magical 2015 football season.
8:56AM ( 6 hours ago )