Saturday March 6th, 2021 12:02AM

Cannon McIntosh opens Chili Bowl with Monday win

By Bryan Hulbert
  Contact Editor

TULSA, Okla. - Cannon McIntosh scored a statement win on Monday night, as he opened the 35th annual Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Midget Nationals at Oklahoma’s Tulsa Expo Raceway with a victory on Cummins Qualifying Night.

It marked the second opening night win for the Bixby, Oklahoma native in as many years.

“I really didn’t think I was going to be able to do it again, but you just have to believe, and as the night went on, I started to believe more and more that I could do it and just told myself to be patient and be consistent, and that’s what it took to win tonight,” said McIntosh, who drove the Keith Kunz Motorsports-Curb-Agajanian No. 71k to the win.

The A-Feature victory was the 30th for car owner Keith Kunz at the Tulsa Expo Raceway.

The 18-year-old battled early on with Ryan Bernal, with McIntosh gaining the edge on lap 4. Tyler Courtney would move up to second, and worked to try to challenge the leader.

McIntosh was able to hold Courtney at bay through a series of restarts, and went on to score the victory by a 1.446-second margin over Courtney. Both are now locked into Saturday night’s A-Feature.

Blake Hahn came home in third, with Chris Windom in fourth and David Gravel in fifth.

Jacob Denny, NASCAR Cup Series driver Chase Briscoe, Tim McCreadie, Trey Marcham and Carson Macedo rounded out the top 10.

The 35th annual Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals continues on Tuesday night with Warren CAT Qualifying Night and the Vacuworx Invitational Race of Champions (VIROC).

For more information, visit ChiliBowl.com.

Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals
Tulsa Expo Raceway – Tulsa, OK
Cummins Qualifying Night – January 11, 2021

1. Cannon McIntosh*
2. Tyler Courtney*
3. Blake Hahn
4. Chris Windom
5. David Gravel
6. Jacob Denny
7. Chase Briscoe
8. Tim McCreadie
9. Trey Marcham
10. Carson Macedo
11. Alex Sewell
12. Gary Taylor
13. Stephen Schnapf
14. Kory Schudy
15. Roger Crockett
16. C.J. Leary
17. Steven Russell
18. Kade Morton
19. Riley Kreisel
20. Mitchel Moles
21. Clinton Boyles
22. Jerry Coons, Jr.
23. Ryan Bernal
24. Kevin Bayer

*Advances to Saturday’s A-Feature

  • Associated Categories: Sports, NASCAR News, Other Motorsports
  • Associated Tags: motorsports, Open Wheel, Auto Racing, Dirt Track, Short Track, Midgets, Chili Bowl
© Copyright 2021 AccessWDUN.com
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.