Girls soccer playoffs: Top-ranked Buford, Jefferson highlight opening round action

By Jeff Hart Sports Reporter
Posted 9:03AM on Tuesday 16th April 2024 ( 2 months ago )

The Georgia High School Association soccer playoffs kickoff on Tuesday around the state, opening with the girls in Classes 7A, 5A, 3A, and both Class A Division 1 and 2.

Highlighting the action for northeast Georgia area teams will be Buford in Class 7A (16-0-1) and ranked No. 1 in 7A and Jefferson in Class 5A (15-0-1) and ranked No. 1 in 5A coming into the playoffs.

The two teams have been dominating all season. The only blemish for either came against each other in a late-season match that ended in a 0-0 draw.

The Lady Wolves, the Region 8-7A champs, play host to Wheeler out of Region 5-7A while the Lady Dragons, the Region 8-5A champions, will take on Tri-Cities out of Region 5-5A at Memorial Stadium.

Both teams are hoping to improve on showings from last season as both teams lost in the second round but neither came in as region champs.

Three other teams will also open the playoffs at home on Tuesday.

Lumpkin County (10-1-1) will have Coahulla Creek (9-6) visit The Burial Grounds, where the Lady Indians are 6-0-1 on the season, in Class 3A. Jasper County (6-9) travels to Rabun County (8-4-1) in Class A Division 1. The Lady Wildcats are 5-1 at home while the Lady Hurricanes are just 1-5 on the road this season. And, in Class A Division 2, Towns County (8-2) plays host to winless Truetlen (0-16) to get things started.

Dawson County and White County in Class 3A and Commerce in Class A Division 1 will be on the road to open the playoffs.

(Below is the full schedule of girls soccer playoff games on Tuesday for teams in the AccessWDUN coverage area.)

1st ROUND SOCCER PLAYOFFS, Tuesday, April 16

Wheeler girls (Region 5, Seed 4) at Buford (R8, S1), 7 p.m.

Tri-Cities (R5, S4) at Jefferson (R8, S1), 6 p.m.

Coahulla Creek (R6, S3) at Lumpkin County (R7, S2), 5 p.m.
Dawson County R7, S3) at Adairsville (R6, S2), 6 p.m.
White County (R7, S4) at Bremen (R6, S1), 6 p.m.

Commerce (R8, S3) at Oglethorpe County (R5, S2), 6 p.m.
Jasper County (R5, S3) at Rabun County (R8, S2), 6 p.m.

Truetlen (R2, S6) at Towns County (R3, S3), 6 p.m.

© Copyright 2015 All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.