SEC notebook: Three SEC players among Heisman finalists

By The Associated Press
Posted 8:51AM on Friday 25th December 2020 ( 10 months ago )

UNDATED — Alabama teammates Mac Jones and DeVonta Smith along with Clemson's Trevor Lawrence and Florida's Kyle Trask have been named finalists for the Heisman Trophy.

The Heisman will be awarded Jan. 5 during a virtual ceremony as the pandemic forced the cancellation of the usual  trip to New York that for the presentation that usually comes with being a finalist. Jones and Smith are the eighth set of teammates to be finalists together since the tradition started in 1982. Smith is trying to become the first wide receiver to win the Heisman since 1991 when Desmond Howard took the award for Michigan.

AUBURN, Ala. — Bryan Harsin got a quick lesson in priorities at Auburn. The Tigers’ new coach, fresh from a successful seven-year run at Boise State, meandered through a more than half-hour opening statement Thursday at his introductory news conference. The first question when he finally finished was, fittingly, about competing against Nick Saban and No. 1 Alabama in the Iron Bowl. He said those kinds of moments “become too big” if teams don’t treat every day and every game as important.

© Copyright 2015 All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.