Brandon Haley bags Hartwell Limited Late Model victory

By Brandon Reed Reporter
Posted 2:00PM on Tuesday 10th September 2019 ( 8 months ago )

Brandon Haley added to his win total on Saturday night, as he drove to the Limited Late Model victory at Georgia’s Hartwell Speedway.

The Lavonia, Georgia racer started the night on the pole and ended it in victory lane at the 3/8-mile clay raceway.

Haley was fastest in qualifying, but it was outside pole sitter Justin Sims who came away with the lead after a battle with Haley through the first two turns. Sims then began to gap the field until the caution flew for an issue on the track.

Back under green, Sims car didn’t seem as strong as it had during the opening laps, as Haley was able to keep pace with him. Lap after lap, Haley looked for an opening to move around the leader.

The race went south for Sims as the leaders raced into turn one. Sims’ car slowed suddenly and pulled to the inside, an apparent mechanical issue sidelining him.

Haley assumed the lead, and went on to hold off Grant Jordan to score the victory.

Mason Tucker followed in third, with Will Harris in fourth and Chris Segars in fifth.

In other action, Adam Partain edged out Danny Sanders to score the Crate Late Model victory. Austin Reed finished in third, with Jimmy Mason in fourth and Larry Waters in fifth.

Ricky Smith held off Jesse Ivester to take home the Hobby feature victory. Jimmy Ivester, Brant Carey and Shane Yarbrough rounded out the top five.

Kyle Gordon topped the Modified Street field to score the feature win. Smoky Roberts followed in second, with Thomas Segars in third, Wayne Scott in fourth and Joe Nash in fifth.

Chance Segars was the winner in the Stock V8 feature. Keith Teasley finished second, with Chad Hoopaugh third, Jake Jordan fourth and Cord Crowe fifth.

Scott Hollars took the victory in the Stock 4 feature, with Dustin Bales in second, David Walker in third, Elliott Brayboy in fourth and Chris Webb in fifth.

Ryan Baker scored the win in the Young Guns feature, followed by Hoyt Partain in second, Tanner Nation in third, Aiden Fortson in fourth and Lane Fortson in fifth.

Alex Powell was the winner in the Front Wheel Drive feature. Joel Powell, Sr., Eddie Segars, Kalen Holmes and Tony Stephens rounded out the top five.

Hartwell Speedway returns to action on Saturday, September 14, as the track plays host to the NVRA Vintage Race Cars. For more information, visit

Hartwell Speedway – Hartwell, GA
Race Results – September 7, 2019

Limited Late Models
1. Brandon Haley
2. Grant Jordan
3. Mason Tucker
4. Will Harris
5. Chris Segars
6. Justin Sims
7. Tim Jones

Crate Late Models
1. Adam Partain
2. Danny Sanders
3. Austin Reed
4. Jimmy Mason
5. Larry Waters
6. Cody Pritchett

1. Ricky Smith
2. Jesse Ivester
3. Jimmy Ivester
4. Brant Carey
5. Shane Yarbrough
6. Shaun Thomas
7. Clay Thompson
8. Joe Cash
9. Ervin Atkinson
10. Howard Maxey
11. Cody Segars
12. Colby Jordan

Modified Street
1. Kyle Gordon
2. Smoky Roberts
3. Thomas Segars
4. Wayne Scott
5. Joe Nash
6. Johnny Pilgrim
7. Robbie Campbell
8. Cal Moon
9. Tye Nalley

Stock V8
1. Chance Segars
2. Keith Teasley
3. Chad Hoopaugh
4. Jake Jordan
5. Cord Crowe
6. Joey Ellis
7. Sara Dorn
8. George Brown
9. Keith Ross

Stock 4
1. Scott Hollars
2. Dustin Bales
3. David Walker
4. Elliott Brayboy
5. Chris Webb
6. Jacob Rhome
7. Pete Whitley

Young Guns
1. Ryan Baker
2. Hoyt Partain
3. Tanner Nation
4. Aiden Fortson
5. Lane Fortson
6. Alyssa Goldsmith

Front Wheel Drive
1. Alex Powell
2. Joel Powell, Sr.
3. Eddie Segars
4. Kalen Holmes
5. Tony Stephens
6. Kenneth Taylor
7. J.J. Sorrow
8. Timothy Jones
9. Travis King

Brandon Haley, seen here from earlier action, scored the Limited Late Model feature victory on Saturday night at Hartwell Speedway.

© Copyright 2015 All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.