Habersham voters will use new polling locations tomorrow

Posted 1:06PM on Monday 29th February 2016 ( 8 years ago )

CLARKESVILLE — Habersham County voters will use their new polling locations beginning with the Presidential Preference Primary on Tuesday, March 1.

Elections Supervisor Laurel Ellison reminds Habersham County voters who didn't already cast early, advance, absentee or Saturday ballots they must go to their assigned polling place between 7 a.m. and 7 p.m. Tuesday if they want to vote.

This year marks the first since the county expanded from two precincts to five, and added two city-only polling locations.

Voters whose precinct location has changed should have received a new voter precinct card.

Those who previously voted at Clarkesville (including City of Clarkesville), Glade Creek, Deep Creek and Fairplay now vote at Habersham North Precinct, Ruby Fulbright Aquatic Center, 120 Paul Franklin Road, Clarkesville.

Those who previously voted at Baldwin, Center Hill, and Cornelia (including City of Cornelia) now vote at First Baptist Church of Cornelia, 325 Oak St., Cornelia.

Those who previously voted at Batesville and Cool Springs now vote at Amy's Creek Precinct, Amy's Creek Fire Department, 6357 State Hwy. 17, Clarkesville.

Those who previously voted at Demorest (also City of Demorest), Fork and Falling Water now vote at Demorest Precinct, in the downstairs meeting room at Demorest Fire Department, 125 Ivy St., Demorest.

Those who previously voted at Alto, Mud Creek and View now vote at Mud Creek Precinct, B.C. Grant Baptist Church, 1405 B.C. Grant Road, Alto.

The City of Baldwin Precinct (for city voters only) will be at the new Baldwin City Hall, formerly Habersham Bank, 186 Highway 441 Bypass, Baldwin.

The Town of Mt. Airy Precinct (for town voters only) will be at the new Mt. Airy Town Hall, 1231 Dicks Hill Parkway, Mt. Airy.

Habersham County formerly consolidated 14 precincts to two. After public input, the board of elections and registration worked with county officials to expand back to five polling locations. Additionally, voters who live inside Baldwin and Mt. Airy now have their own precincts.

Ellison said 3,642 Habersham County voters cast absentee/early/advance/Saturday votes through Feb. 26.

That number includes 411 absentee ballots by mail (300 returned as of Saturday), 976 early ballots in the elections and registration office, 219 during Saturday voting, and 2,147 who participated in advance voting, Ellison said.

"With the above higher-than-normal Presidential Preference Primary early voting totals, this indicates that Election Day will be heavier than normal," Ellison said. "Voters may experience some wait time, but since the ballots only have the presidential preference race on them, the wait time should be minimal." 

Anyone with questions about their polling place should call (706) 839-0170, or go online to and under Elections click on MVP and enter information to bring up their polling location and sample ballots.

© Copyright 2015 All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.