Monday September 16th, 2019 10:41PM

Bonsignore wins sixth straight NWMT race at Thompson

By Kyle
  Contact Editor

THOMPSON, Conn. — The streak just keeps on rolling.

Justin Bonsignore became the first driver to win five consecutive NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour races at Connecticut's Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park in April, and on Wednesday, he increased that number by one.

Bonsignore scored his sixth straight win at the historic oval, pulling away from the field after passing Jon McKennedy on a restart and never looking back.

It was the 22nd career win for the Holtsville, New York, native and his second of the season. The victory was his 11th at Thompson, a number that leads all active drivers.

“I don’t think anyone in the Whelen Modified Tour would ever think they could pull something off like this,” Bonsignore said. “Deep down, you know you have cars that always come here and you will be able to do it. But we have won them in so many different ways and there are so many different strategies.”

The strategy for this victory was rather easy to decide. Bonsignore took the lead from Craig Lutz on lap 87 after chasing him for the top spot for the middle portion of the race. But a caution on lap 100 sent Bonsignore and the rest of the leaders to pit road for fresh rubber. Once he received his new tires, there was no stopping the veteran.

He restarted to the inside of McKennedy at lap 106, and took the lead entering turn three on the following lap. From there, he pulled away from the field and rolled to victory.

“At lap 100, I was confident that if it just stayed green I would be fine, but when the yellow came out, I was sitting there wondering who was going to pit, who wasn’t going to pit. When McKennedy only took two tires, I knew what his car was going to do. Our car was just so good on three tires.”

Doug Coby, who won his second consecutive Mayhew Tools Dominator Pole Award in qualifying, fought a tight condition early that dropped him to the bottom of the top 10. But after a quick pit stop by his Mayhew Tools team, Coby mounted a charge up to second at the finish.

Craig Lutz, who led a race-high 73 laps, finished third. Former NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour champion Burt Myers was fourth, driving for the injured Dave Sapienza, while Ron Silk finished in fifth.

Eric Goodale, Matt Swanson, Sam Rameau, Max Zachem and Woody Pitkat rounded out the top ten.

The NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour returns to the track at Riverhead Raceway in New York, on Saturday, July 6.

NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour
Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park – Thompson, CT
Thompson 125 – June 5, 2019

1. Justin Bonsignore
2. Doug Coby
3. Craig Lutz
4. Burt Myers
5. Ron Silk
6. Eric Goodale
7. Matt Swanson
8. Sam Rameau
9. Max Zachem
10. Woody Pitkat
11. Tommy Catalano
12. Chris Pasteryak
13. Timmy Solomito
14. Ryan Preece
15. George Brunnhoelzl III
16. Rob Summers
17. Jon McKennedy
18. Andrew Krause
19. Blake Barney
20. Ken Heagy
21. J. B. Fortin, Jr.
22. Timmy Catalano
23. Walter Sutcliffe, Jr.
24. Kyle Ellwood
25. Calvin Carroll
26. Wade Cole
27. Patrick Emerling
28. Anthony Nocella
29. Melissa Fifield
30. Jimmy Blewett
31. Joey Mucciacciaro

  • Associated Categories: NASCAR News, Other Motorsports
  • Associated Tags: nascar, motorsports, Auto Racing, Stock Car, Short Track, Asphalt, NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour
© Copyright 2019
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.