Thursday November 15th, 2018 3:41AM

Bloomquist wins Grassy Smith Memorial at Cherokee

By Series PR
  Contact Editor

GAFFNEY, S.C. – Scott Bloomquist wheeled his way into victory lane for the fifth time this season during the Grassy Smith Memorial for the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series on Friday night at Cherokee Speedway in Gaffney, South Carolina.

Bloomquist took the lead on lap 31 from Josh Richards and then held off a charging Brandon Overton in the final laps to score his 599th career victory.

Overton came home in second, followed by Richards in third, Don O’Neal in fourth and Dennis Erb, Jr. in fifth.

Hudson O’Neal led the opening lap from his outside front-row starting spot. Richards took over the point on the second lap and then led until Bloomquist forged ahead on lap 31.

“We were good on the restarts and that helped,” Bloomquist said. “This is probably the best shape I have ever seen this track in. We could run low, middle, or the top. We went to the top there towards the end and I think that helped us out a lot. The top was the place to be especially getting around those lapped cars.”

Dennis Franklin, Darrell Lanigan, Jimmy Owens, Earl Pearson Jr. and Gregg Satterlee rounded out the top ten.

The Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series was slated to compete on Saturday night at Smoky Mountain Speedway in Maryville, Tennesee, but the race was postponed due to substantial rain. A rescheduled date will be announced later.

For more information, visit LucasDirt.com.

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Cherokee Speedway – Gaffney, SC
Grassy Smith Memorial – July 6, 2018

1 7 0 Scott Bloomquist Mooresburg, TN $12,800
2 13 76 Brandon Overton Evans, GA $5,500
3 1 1R Josh Richards Shinnston, WV $4,600
4 4 5 Don O’Neal Martinsville, IN $3,550
5 3 28 Dennis Erb, Jr. Carpentersville, IL $2,250
6 6 2F Dennis Franklin Gaffney, SC $1,800
7 14 14 Darrell Lanigan Union, KY $2,200
8 24 20 Jimmy Owens Newport, TN $2,100
9 17 1 Earl Pearson, Jr. Jacksonville, FL $2,000
10 8 22 Gregg Satterlee Indiana, PA $1,800
11 11 87 Ross Bailes Clover, SC $1,075
12 25 25Z Mason Zeigler Chalk Hill, PA $1,850
13 16 40B Kyle Bronson Brandon, FL $1,025
14 10 49 Jonathan Davenport Blairsville, GA $1,900
15 23 39 Tim McCreadie Watertown, NY $1,700
16 20 2C Joey Coulter Troutman, NC $1,000
17 22 89 Justin Williams Concord, VA $1,000
18 12 00 Jeff Smith Bessemer City, NC $1,000
19 9 281 Kyle Pierce Statesville, NC $1,000
20 2 71 Hudson O’Neal Martinsville, IN $1,700
21 18 93 Donald Bradsher Burlington, NC $1,000
22 21 55 Benji Hicks Mt. Airy, NC $1,000
23 19 09 Johnny Pursley Clover, SC $1,000
24 15 31T Tyler Millwood Kingston, GA $1,000
25 5 32 Bobby Pierce Oakwood, IL $1,700
  • Associated Categories: NASCAR News, Other Motorsports
  • Associated Tags: motorsports, Auto Racing, Dirt Track, Stock Car, Short Track, Dirt Late Model, Lucas Oil Dirt Racing Series
© Copyright 2018 AccessWDUN.com
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.