Sunday February 24th, 2019 12:17AM
12:59PM ( 11 hours ago ) Weather Alert

Justin Bonsignore wins in NWMT at Riverhead – again

By Jason Cunningham-Hometracks.NASCAR.com
  Contact Editor

RIVERHEAD, N.Y. – Justin Bonsignore held off Ryan Preece through a furious finish to capture the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour victory Saturday night at New York’s Riverhead Raceway.

A native of Holtsville, New York, Bonsignore took the lead for good on lap 171 and drove to his fifth career victory at the Long Island quarter-mile.

It marked the 16th career tour victory for Bonsignore, who has won four of seven in 2018 as the season nears the halfway point. He now has a 33-point lead atop the standings.

Bonsignore won his seventh career pole earlier in the afternoon, but Timmy Solomito gained the lead from the drop of the green. Preece moved to the front on lap 19, and it was a two-horse race with Bonsignore from there.

Preece had a commanding lead when a caution came out on lap 100. On the ensuing restart, Preece appeared to get loose, allowing Bonsignore to move to the front. There would be one more lead swap with 60 to go before Bonsignore’s decisive pass.

Preece settled for second while Doug Coby came home third as only the podium drivers finished on the lead lap. Dave Sapienza finished fourth, followed by Solomito in fifth.

Craig Lutz, Chase Dowling, Tom Rogers Jr., Kyle Soper and Ronnie Williams rounded out the top ten.

Dowling is second in championship points, 33 behind Bonsignore and 18 in front of Solomito. Lutz and Preece are fourth and fifth, respectively.

The Whelen Modified Tour will return to points-paying action on Saturday, July 21 at New Hampshire Motor Speedway.

NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour
Riverhead Raceway – Riverhead, NY
Buzz Chew Auto Group 200 – July 7, 2018

1. Justin Bonsignore
2. Ryan Preece
3. Doug Coby
4. Dave Sapienza
5. Timmy Solomito
6. Craig Lutz
7. Chase Dowling
8. Tom Rogers, Jr.
9. Kyle Soper
10. Ronnie Williams
11. Chris Pasteryak
12. Tommy Catalano
13. Kyle Ellwood
14. Burt Myers
15. John Beatty, Jr.
16. Blake Barney
17. John Fortin
18. Eric Goodale
19. J.B. Fortin
20. Rowan Pennink
21. Ken Heagy
22. Rob Summers
23. Calvin Carroll
24. Walter Sutcliffe, Jr.
25. Roger Turbush
26. Wade Cole
27. Gary McDonald
28. Joe DeGracia
29. Cory Osland
30. Melissa Fifield

  • Associated Categories: NASCAR News, Other Motorsports
  • Associated Tags: nascar, motorsports, Auto Racing, Stock Car, Short Track, Modifieds, Asphalt, NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour
© Copyright 2019 AccessWDUN.com
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.