Wednesday January 16th, 2019 7:37PM

Owens’ misfortune gives Davenport victory at Tazewell

By Series PR
  Contact Editor

TAZEWELL, Tenn. - The fastest car doesn’t always win the race and that was the case in the Toyota Knoxville 50 on Friday night at Tennessee’s Tazewell Speedway.

Jonathan Davenport inherited the lead when Jimmy Owens left the race on lap 46 with terminal issues. The Blairsville, Georgia speedster then held off a hard-charging Tim McCreadie for his fifth series win of the season.

McCreadie finished a close second, with Don O’Neal in third, Dennis Erb, Jr. in fourth and Earl Pearson, Jr. in fifth.

Owens bolted to the lead at the start of the event and dominated much of the race. He led by almost a straightaway on several occasions as Davenport and McCreadie battled for second.

No one appeared to have anything for Owens, who was looking for the sixth Toyota Knoxville 50 win of his career. Unfortunately, with four laps to go Owens retreated to the pits off turn four in a cloud of smoke. McCreadie pressured Davenport in the final laps, but Davenport held on for first Tazewell Speedway victory since 2015.

“I hate for anybody to have any bad luck, especially when you are leading,” said Davenport.” We were running second there at the end, early on I don’t know if I could have gotten by Josh Richards or Jimmy Owens.” Richards pulled out of the race on lap 18 while running second to Owens.

“I don’t know how much Jimmy was saving,” Davenport continued. “This place is so fast. The top went away, and the bottom was coming back in at the end. Man, I love this place. I didn’t see anything coming from the 20 car. I thought he had a tire going down or something. Josh was smoking for several laps there early on. Man, it was heartbreak for those two. We will take it, it was a good points night for us.

“Thanks to Lance Landers for putting together this wonderful race team. The sky is the limit. The first time I ever came here I loved it. This place is so unique. There is nothing like it. I wish we could come back here two or three times.”

Hudson O’Neal, Eric Wells, Mason Zeigler, Chad Ogle, and Jason Jameson rounded out the top ten.

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Tazewell Speedway – Tazewell, TN
Toyota Knoxville 50 – May 4, 2018

1 8 49 Jonathan Davenport Blairsville, GA $12,900
2 6 39 Tim McCreadie Watertown, NY $6,200
3 7 5 Don O’Neal Martinsville, IN $4,300
4 10 28 Dennis Erb, Jr. Carpentersville, IL $2,750
5 9 1 Earl Pearson, Jr. Jacksonville, FL $3,050
6 3 71 Hudson O’Neal Martinsville, IN $2,500
7 12 18E Eric Wells Hazard, KY $1,500
8 19 25Z Mason Zeigler Chalk Hill, PA $1,400
9 16 10C Chad Ogle Sevierville, TN $1,200
10 4 12J Jason Jameson Lawrenceburg, IN $1,100
11 25 22 Gregg Satterlee Indiana, PA $775
12 13 0 Scott Bloomquist Mooresburg, TN $1,850
13 5 21K Dakotah Knuckles Ewing, VA $1,025
14 23 40B Kyle Bronson Brandon, FL $1,700
15 21 69* Carder Miller Salem, VA $1,000
16 11 1G Ryan King Seymour, TN $1,000
17 2 20 Jimmy Owens Newport, TN $1,800
18 22 21 Robby Moses Maryville, TN $1,000
19 15 25 Eric Webber Morristown, TN $1,000
20 17 32 Bobby Pierce Oakwood, IL $1,700
21 1 1R Josh Richards Shinnston, WV $2,000
22 14 101 Forrest Trent Talbott, TN $1,000
23 20 86 Jeff Neubert Rockford, TN $1,000
24 18 7b Brian Smith Barbourville, KY $1,000
25 24 14 Darrell Lanigan Union, KY $1,700
  • Associated Categories: Sports, NASCAR News, Other Motorsports
  • Associated Tags: motorsports, Auto Racing, Dirt Track, Stock Car, Short Track, Dirt Late Model, Lucas Oil Dirt Racing Series
© Copyright 2019
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.