Monday August 20th, 2018 8:59AM

McCoy takes Limited Late Model win in Toccoa opener

By Brandon Reed Reporter
  Contact Editor

It took an extra day to get the season opener in at Georgia’s Toccoa Raceway, but it was all worth it for David McCoy.

After Saturday night’s action at the historic 5/16 mile clay speedway was pushed to Sunday by rain, McCoy made the most of the extra day.

The Franklin, North Carolina driver powered to the lead of the Limited Late Model feature, and held off Clayton Turner en route to the victory.

Drew Collins finished in third, followed by Mason Tucker in fourth and Drew Benfield in fifth.

In other action, Ricky Smith edged out Frankie Beard for the win in the FASTRAK Crate Late Model feature. Colby Cannon followed in third, with Cody Pritchett in fourth and Larry Timms in fifth.

Dale Timms was the winner in the Hobby feature. Cameron Crowe ran second, with Nick Sellers third, Mark Wilbanks fourth and John Howard fifth.

Sterling Helm took home the victory in the Modified Street feature. Billy Buffington, Jennifer Everett, Smokey Roberts and Johnny Pilgrim rounded out the top five.

Sterling Helm scored the win in the Pro Trucks feature, with Bill Pulliam in second, Terry Calhoun in third, Ralph Anderson in fourth and Cameron Collett in fifth.

Hayden Collett beat out Stephen House for the Stock V8 feature, followed by Evan Brown in third, Paul Moore in fourth and Ray Foskey in fifth.

Harley Holden was the winner in the Stock 4 feature, with Joey Kelley in second, Terry Calhoun in third, Bobby Rhinehart in fourth Randy Boshears in fifth.

Preston Kelley scored the Young Guns victory, followed by Logan Beard in second and Jeffrey Turner in third.

Travis Jamieson recorded the victory in the Front Wheel Drive feature. Jule Cabe finished in second, with Jason Calhoun in third, North West in fourth and Daniel Reynolds in fifth.

Toccoa Raceway returns to action with the tracks first points paying race of the season on Saturday, April 14. Visit

Toccoa Raceway – Toccoa, GA
Race Results – April 8, 2018

Limited Late Models
1. David McCoy
2. Clayton Turner
3. Drew Collins
4. Mason Tucker
5. Drew Benfield
6. Nick Sellers
7. Wesley English
DNS: Gus Simpson

FASTRAK Crate Late Models
1. Ricky Smith
2. Frankie Beard
3. Colby Cannon
4. Cody Pritchett
5. Larry Timms
6. David McCoy
7. Daniel Wilson
8. Nick Schlager
9. Tyler Harvey
10. Will Harris
DNS: Cody Overton
DNS: Dale Timms
DNS: Adam Smith
DNS: Drew Deaver
DNS: Steve Bowie
DNS: Parker Martin

1. Dale Timms
2. Cameron Crowe
3. Nick Sellers
4. Mark Wilbanks
5. John Howard
6. Jermey Kastner
7. Baron McDowell
8. Bobby Sexton
9. Josh Roberts
10. Walker Kastner
11. Royce Bray
DQ: Jeff Robinson
DQ: Brandon Stroud
DNS: Chris Wilbanks
DNS: Ben Riggins
DNS: Dustin Mincey

Modified Street
1. Sterling Helm
2. Billy Buffington
3. Jennifer Everett
4. Smokey Roberts
5. Johnny Pilgrim
DNS: Clay Bryson

Pro Trucks
1. Sterling Helm
2. Bill Pulliam
3. Terry Calhoun
4. Ralph Anderson
5. Cameron Collett
6. Matthew Furgerson
7. Spud Nicholson

Stock V8
1. Hayden Collett
2. Stephen House
3. Evan Brown
4. Paul Moore
5. Ray Foskey
6. Tyler Brown
7. James Campbell

Stock 4
1. Harley Holden
2. Joey Kelly
3. Terry Calhoun
4. Bobby Rhinehart
5. Randy Boshears
6. Randy Edmonds
7. Jacob Miller
8. Douglas Stewart
DQ: Jeff Lord
DNS: Kevin Kelly
DNS: Daniel Partain
DNS: Adam Peak
DNS: Wayne Summers

Young Guns
1. Preston Kelly
2. Logan Beard
3. Jeffrey Turner

1. Travis Jamieson
2. Jule Cabe
3. Jason Calhoun
4. North West
5. Daniel Reynolds
6. Tony Stevens
7. Daniel Hambrick
8. Calob Nicholson
9. Heath Jandik
10. Michael Davis
11. Davin Glenn
12. D.J. Carey
13. Cody Henry
DNS: Jackie Holden
DNS: Jonathan Riggins
DNS: Joe Nix
DNS: Christopher Harvell

  • Associated Categories: Sports, NASCAR News, Other Motorsports
  • Associated Tags: motorsports, Auto Racing, Dirt Track, Stock Car, Short Track, Dirt Late Model, Toccoa
© Copyright 2018
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.