Wednesday January 16th, 2019 6:16PM

Majeski bests Nasse for Tuesday SLM win at New Smyrna

By Kyle
  Contact Editor

NEW SMYRNA, Fla. – Ty Majeski found himself in Victory Lane at Florida’s New Smyrna Speedway for the first time this week, albeit, not without a little controversy.

In the 50-lap Super Late Model feature Tuesday night, the Seymour, Wisconsin, driver came out on top of a heated battle for the lead between himself, Stephen Nasse and Harrison Burton.

Majeski was the 2016 Super Late Model champion in the World Series of Asphalt Stock Car Racing, while Burton won the week-long title last year.

While Nasse led the race in the final stages, Majeski and Burton both tried the bottom to pass him for the top spot, but both couldn’t seal the deal.

On lap 43, contact between Majeski and Burton sent Burton spinning to the infield, into the inside wall, and out for the remainder of the race. On the ensuing restart, Majeski cleared Nasse and was able to hold on and capture the victory behind the wheel of the No. 91 Super Late Model.

Nasse finished second, with Sam Mayer in third, Matt Wallace in fourth and Jeff Choquette in fifth.

Ryan Preece Finds Redemption With Night Two Modified Win

No matter how many times she isn’t, eventually, one would think that lady luck has to be on your side.

Tuesday night at New Smyrna, Ryan Preece finally got the luck he needed.

The Berlin, Connecticut, driver found himself carrying the checkered flag at the end of the 35-lap Tour Type Modified feature — one night after being forced to give up the lead in the final stages because of a mechanical failure.

The victory came in the second of five nights of racing for the modifieds as part of the 52nd annual World Series at the half-mile.

“It’s just awesome. This is the way I wanted to start yesterday,” Preece said. “To be able to do it the next day, it’s a little bit sweeter. When you beat the guy in the No. 60, that’s saying something.”

Preece started fourth following a 10-car invert, but had to avoid some early chaos in order to reach the winner’s circle. Kyle Ebersole and Ronnie Williams led the 28-car field to green, but Williams fell off the pace before lap two.

Shortly after, Chuck Hossfeld and others were collected in a wreck down the frontstretch – a wreck that ended the night for both Hossfeld and Jon McKennedy, who won the opening-night modified feature.

Preece found himself restarting second, but took the lead from Matt Hirschman on lap 14 and never looked back. He crossed the line 0.446-seconds ahead of Hirschman, who scored his second straight top-five finish.

“Just need to get a little bit better,” Hirschman said. “The car just isn’t quite to my liking.”

Jimmy Blewett finished third, followed by Patrick Emerling and Timmy Solomito.

In other action, Wayne Parker won the Florida Modifieds feature, with Wayne Parker, Ricky Moxley, Jerry Symons, Bruce Bennette, and Ben Bosowski rounding out the top five.

Racing at New Smyrna continues on Wednesday night, with the annual John Blewett III Memorial 76-lap feature for the Tour Type Modifieds. The IMCA Modifieds, Super Late Models and Pro Late Models will also join the card.

World Series of Asphalt Stock Car Racing
New Smyrna Speedway – New Smyrna Beach, FL
Race Results – February 13, 2018

Super Late Models
1. Ty Majeski
2. Stephen Nasse
3. Sam Mayer
4. Matt Wallace
5. Jeff Choquette
6. Derek Griffith
7. Derek Kraus
8. Anthony Sergi
9. Brad May
10. Tyler Dippel
11. Joe Graf, Jr.
12. Gabe Sommers
13. Ryan Moore
14. Darrell Gilchrist
15. Carter Stokes
16. David Russell
17. Steve Weaver
18. Harrison Burton
19. Russ Shaw
20. Nicholas Naugle

Tour-Type Modifieds
1. Ryan Preece
2. Matt Hirschman
3. Jimmy Blewett
4. Patrick Emerling
5. Timmy Solomito
6. Eric Goodale
7. Kyle Ebersole
8. Mike Willis, Jr.
9. Danny Bohn
10. Jimmy Zacharias
11. Craig Lutz
12. Calvin Carroll
13. Jeff Gallup
14. Jeff Goodale
15. Austin Pickens
16. Amy Catalano
17. Timmy Catalano
18. Joe DeGracia
19. John Gerstner
20. Tom Tohn
21. Nikki Carroll
22. Chuck Hossfeld
23. Jeremy Gerstner
24. Ron Silk
25. Jon McKennedy
26. Kyle Trayner
27. Matt Montineri
28. Ronnie Williams

Florida Modifieds
1. Wayne Parker
2. Ricky Moxley
3. Jerry Symons
4. Bruce Bennette
5. Ben Bosowski
6. Matthew Green
7. Tank Tucker
8. Kevyn Terry
9. Greg Chandler
10. Aaron Overton
11. Art Kunzeman
12. Jason Wells

  • Associated Categories: NASCAR News, Other Motorsports
  • Associated Tags: nascar, motorsports, Auto Racing, Stock Car, Short Track, Asphalt, Late Model, NASCAR Whelen All-American Series
© Copyright 2019
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.