Friday January 18th, 2019 12:33AM

Schatz takes first WoO Sprints win of 2018 at Volusia

By Colby Gorniewicz
  Contact Editor

BARBERVILLE, Fla. - Clearly, Donny Schatz has a flair for the dramatic in 2018.

After sweeping All-Stars competition with a pair of thrilling victories, Schatz excited the DIRTcar Nationals standing room only crowd once again Saturday night, exchanging slide jobs with Jason Johnson en route to his 250th World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Series feature victory at Florida’s Volusia Speedway Park.

Johnson settled for second with Tim Shaffer, who rebounded from a nasty crash last night, finishing in third. Brad Sweet finished in fourth, followed by David Gravel in fifth.

Kerry Madsen, Sheldon Haudenschild, Chad Kemenah, Paul McMahan and Shane Stewart rounded out the top ten.

In other action, the first of two Gator Qualifying Nights for the DIRTcar UMP Modifieds was on Saturday.

The 79 teams that have appeared at least once during the DIRTcar Nationals were split up into two groups with half the field racing on the 10th, while the other half get the day off before returning to the track on Sunday. Those two nights will set the field for Monday’s $5,000-to-win finale.

Tyler Nicely powered to victory lane, guaranteeing himself a shot at the Big Gator on Monday after scoring his second win in two nights.

Kyle Strickler came home in second, followed by Michael Long in third, Matt Crafton in fourth, and David Stremme in fifth.

Mike McKinney, Ryan Ayers, Ray Bollinger, Chase Collins, and Ricky Arms rounded out the top ten.

The World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Series will wrap up Sprint Car Week with their third and final night of racing on Sunday night, while the DIRTcar UMP Modifieds will continue with the second and final pivotal night qualifying night for Monday’s Big Gator Championship feature.

For more information, visit

DIRTcar Nationals
Volusia Speedway Park – Barberville, FL
Race Results – Feb. 10, 2018

World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Series
1. 15-Donny Schatz
2. 41-Jason Johnson
3. 49X-Tim Shaffer
4. 49-Brad Sweet
5. 5-David Gravel
6. 2M-Kerry Madsen
7. 17-Sheldon Haudenschild
8. 10H-Chad Kemenah
9. 13X-Paul McMahan
10. 2-Shane Stewart
11. 26-Joey Saldana
12. 1S-Logan Schuchart
13. 9-Daryn Pittman
14. 19-Brent Marks
15. 5W-Lucas Wolfe
16. 11K-Kraig Kinser
17. 83-Cory Eliason
18. 70-Dave Blaney
19. 4K-Kasey Kahne
20. 7S-Jason Sides
21. 44-Trey Starks
22. W20-Greg Wilson
23. 4-Parker Price-Miller
24. 27-Greg Hodnett
25. 13-Clyde Knipp
26. 21-Brian Brown

DIRTcar UMP Modifieds
1. Tyler Nicely
2.Kyle Strickler
3.Michael Long
4.Matt Crafton
5.David Stremme
6. Mike McKinney
7. Ryan Ayers
8. Ray Bollinger
9. Chase Collins
10. Ricky Arms
11. Garrett Stewart
12. Buzzie Reutimann
13. Blake Spalding
14. Will Long
15. Dugan Thye
16. Dave Jamison
17. Jesse Rupe
18. Frank Paladino
19. Todd Neiheiser
20. Jason Garver
21. Rick Conoyer
22. Craig Shaw
23.Gene Nicholas
24. Tony Anderson

  • Associated Categories: NASCAR News, Other Motorsports
  • Associated Tags: motorsports, Open Wheel, Auto Racing, Sprint Car, Dirt Track, Stock Car, Modifieds
© Copyright 2019
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.