Wednesday February 20th, 2019 4:36AM

Davenport bests Richards for Friday East Bay victory

By Series PR
  Contact Editor

TAMPA, Fla. - Jonathan Davenport passed Josh Richards on lap 47 and then held him off for the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series win on Friday night at East Bay Raceway Park in Tampa, Florida.

The Blairsville, Georgia driver picked up his 29th career series win and his fourth ever at East Bay. Davenport started sixth in the field, and never ran outside the top three during the 50-lap main event.

Richards stayed glued to the bottom of the track for most of the latter half of the race as Davenport swept to the outside of the 1/3-mile oval. Davenport dove down low for a few laps but eventually came back to the top soon enough so that he was able to get around Richards.

“It’s going to be a hard battle all year long on this series,” said Davenport, who was congratulated by Richards in victory lane after the race. “I knew I was going to be in tire conservation mode the entire race. He (Richards) ran down on the bottom for most of the race. There was some traction from the middle to the top that I noticed during the caution flag. My car just wouldn’t handle on the bottom. I thought I was hurting my tires for most of the race, but fortunately they held up.

“I told myself I needed to man up out there and go to the top. The car went real good coming into and off the corners and then I got that run on him near the end and took the lead. Man, I am out of breath. I hoped the fans enjoyed that one. I got a feeling its is going to be like this all year.”

Gregg Satterlee came home in third, followed by Billy Moyer, Jr. in fourth, and Mason Zeigler in fifth.

Brandon Sheppard, Jimmy Owens, Brandon Overton, Don O’Neal, and Earl Pearson, Jr. rounded out the top ten.

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
East Bay Raceway Park – Tampa, FL
East Bay Winternationals – February 9, 2018

1 6 49 Jonathan Davenport Blairsville, GA $10,000
2 2 1R Josh Richards Shinnston, WV $5,600
3 10 22 Gregg Satterlee Indiana, PA $3,500
4 1 21JR Billy Moyer, Jr. Batesville, AR $2,750
5 14 25Z Mason Zeigler Chalk Hill, PA $2,250
6 21 1s Brandon Sheppard New Berlin, IL $1,800
7 23 20 Jimmy Owens Newport, TN $1,500
8 20 116 Brandon Overton Evans, GA $1,300
9 18 5 Don O’Neal Martinsville, IN $1,200
10 3 1 Earl Pearson, Jr. Jacksonville, FL $1,100
11 5 32 Bobby Pierce Oakwood, IL $1,075
12 11 39 Tim McCreadie Watertown, NY $1,050
13 7 9 Devin Moran Dresden, OH $1,025
14 9 91 Tyler Erb New Waverly, TX $1,000
15 24 71 Hudson O’Neal Martinsville, IN $950
16 16 0 Scott Bloomquist Mooresburg, TN $925
17 8 28 Dennis Erb, Jr. Carpentersville, IL $900
18 19 1* Chub Frank Bear Lake, PA $875
19 15 99B Boom Briggs Bear Lake, PA $850
20 4 40B Kyle Bronson Brandon, FL $825
21 13 2M Allen Murray San Antonio, TX $800
22 26 18J Chase Junghans Manhattan, KS $800
23 22 12J Jason Jameson Lawrenceburg, IN $800
24 17 d8 Dustin Mitchell Selma, NC $800
25 12 14 Darrell Lanigan Union, KY $800
26 25 66c Matt Cosner Ridgeley, WV $800
  • Associated Categories: Sports, NASCAR News, Other Motorsports
  • Associated Tags: motorsports, Auto Racing, Dirt Track, Stock Car, Short Track, Dirt Late Model, Lucas Oil Dirt Racing Series
© Copyright 2019 AccessWDUN.com
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.