Friday February 22nd, 2019 2:14PM

Gov. Deal expands state of emergency to 108 counties

By AccessWDUN Staff
  Contact Editor

As Hurricane Michael makes a quick approach into Georgia, Gov. Nathan deal has increased the number of counties in his state of emergency declaration.

"Based on the latest forecast for Hurricane Michael, I have expanded yesterday’s emergency declaration to include an additional 16 counties," Deal announced on Twitter.

Those additional counties include some considered northeastern counties. They are:

  • Butts
  • Clarke
  • Columbia
  • Elbert
  • Greene
  • Jasper
  • Lamar
  • Lincoln
  • McDuffie
  • Monroe
  • Morgan
  • Oconee
  • Oglethorpe
  • Putnam
  • Taliaferro
  • Wilkes

Follow this link for the original list of counties placed under a state of emergency. 

FEMA officials are warning Georgia residents to take the warnings seriously and take precautions ahead of the storm. 

  • Associated Categories: Homepage, Local/State News
  • Associated Tags: Nathan Deal , Hurricane Michael, state of emergency
© Copyright 2019 AccessWDUN.com
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.