Thursday November 15th, 2018 6:12PM
5:45PM ( 27 minutes ago ) Weather Alert
8:41AM ( 9 hours ago ) Weather Alert

Christopher Bell dominates for Thursday Chili Bowl win

By Bryan Hulbert
  Contact Editor

TULSA, Okla. - Christopher Bell put his Chili Bowl Midget Nationals title defense in high-gear, as the 2017 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series champion scored the victory during Thursday night’s action at Oklahoma’s Tulsa Expo Raceway.

“It’s just good racecars,” said Bell after going three for three in preliminary night wins. “That’s what it really boils down to. All my teammates have been really fast all week long. Keith just brings really, really good cars here.”

Earning the pole for the 25-lap feature event, the Oklahoma native – who will be competing in the NASCAR Xfinity Series this year – stretched his lead to over a half straightaway before the race’s first caution on lap 4. Back under green, Bell again gapped the field with Chase Jones working the hold onto the runner-up spot from Caleb Armstrong.

Bell saw a 4.760-second advantage evaporate with another caution on lap 14. On the restart, Shane Golobic moved into the mix along with Chase Johnson.

Taking over second with eight laps to go, Golobic pursued Bell, who appeared to be on his way to an easy victory. But his advantage went away with a caution just before the final lap, setting up a two lap dash to the finish.

Golobic was able to mount a charge on the restart, but slight contact with the wall spiled his run, as Bell pulled out to nearly a second advantage at the checkered flag, locking him into his fifth career Saturday night A-Feature.

Golobic finished in second, with Johnson in third, which locked them into Saturday night’s Chili Bowl Nationals A-Feature as well.

Tracy Hines finished in fourth, with Caleb Armstrong in fifth.
Ryan Bernal, Billy Pauch, Jr., Matt Sherrell, Tim Crawley and Jerry Coons, Jr., rounded out the top ten.

The 32nd Lucas Oil Chili Bowl National continues on Friday. For more information, visit

Chili Bowl Nationals
Tulsa Expo Raceway – Tulsa, OK
A-Feature Results – Jan. 11, 2018

1. 71W-Christopher Bell
2. 17W-Shane Golobic
3. 71R-Chase Johnson
4. 24-Tracy Hines
5. 49ER-Caleb Armstrong
6. 87-Ryan Bernal
7. 77P-Billy Pauch, Jr.
8. 2D-Matt Sherrell
9. 4J-Tim Crawley
10. 5-Jerry Coons, Jr.
11. 63-Tanner Thorson
12. 76G-David Gravel
13. 45-Roger Crockett
14. 39-Michael Pickens
15. 25B-Steve Buckwalter
16. 73-Jac Haudenschild
17. 67K-Holly Shelton
18. 55X-C.J. Leary
19. 71H-Hudson O’Neal
20. 1H-Mike Hess
21. 11E-Cory Elliott
22. (DNF) 7X-Gage Walker
23. (DNF) 47-Danny Stratton
24. (DNF) 2DJ-Tyler Edwards

  • Associated Categories: Sports, NASCAR News, Other Motorsports
  • Associated Tags: motorsports, Open Wheel, Auto Racing, Dirt Track, Short Track, Midgets, Chili Bowl
© Copyright 2018
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.