Sunday December 9th, 2018 7:45PM

Anderson, Crawford leading Habersham County Commission in 2018

By Rob Moore Reporter
  Contact Editor

CLARKESVILLE — Victor Anderson, who served as Habersham County Commission chairman in 2017, returns in that role for 2018.

Anderson was elected unanimously Monday night on the motion of Commissioner Ed Nichols and the second of Commissioner Natalie Crawford.

Crawford was elected vice chair Monday night. Her unanimous election came on the motion of Commissioner Stacy Hall and the second of Nichols.

“I appreciate the support that my fellow commissioners put in me to be chairman,” Anderson said. “We’ve got a lot of projects going on right now, some construction projects and some other matters that are underway that I really would like to see completed as chairman, so I hope we’re able to do that in this next year.”

Crawford said she is pleased to be returning to a leadership position in the five-member group.

“I appreciate the confidence of my peers on the commission,” Crawford said. “The role of vice chair is to support the chair, first and foremost, and the policies of this commission. I’m looking forward to another successful year for the Habersham County Commission and continue to work on those projects that we have in the works right now with our administration building; the conversation that we have ongoing with the hospital and trying to get it on sure and secure footing. There are a lot of important projects ahead of us, and this is a commission with an eye to the future and we’ll continue to do that and keep our nose to the grindstone.”

Also during Monday night’s meeting, Lindsay Underwood was reappointed as county clerk, and the law firm of Hunt & Taylor Law Group LLC of Gainesville was reappointed to serve as county attorney.

(Kyle Franks of WCHM Radio contributed to this news report.)

  • Associated Categories: Homepage, Business News, Local/State News, Politics
  • Associated Tags: Habersham County, Habersham County Commission, clarkesville, Chairman Victor Anderson, Vice Chair Natalie Crawford
© Copyright 2018
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.