Thursday July 19th, 2018 3:08PM

Gray powers to 602 Thunder Series win at Winder-Barrow

By Brandon Reed Reporter
  Contact Editor

Lee Gray came home with the win in Saturday night’s feature race for the Alpha Art Company 602 Thunder Series at Georgia’s Winder-Barrow Speedway.

Gray jumped to the early lead in the feature, only to see Rod Roberts use an outside move to challenge for the top spot. After racing side-by-side, Roberts finally took the lead, with Gray in pursuit.

The battle was broken up by a spin in turn four that brought out the caution. This was followed by a pair of cautions, both for spins by Cameron Crowe.

On the restart, Roberts again had the edge, but saw it go away when two cars spun in turn one, drawing another caution.

Back under green, Roberts again held the lead, but Gray challenged on the outside, taking the lead away off of the second turn.

From there, Gray drove away to the victory, with Roberts finishing in second. Dustin Cason came home in third, followed by Brian Grumble in fourth and Chad Atha in fifth.

In other action, Chad Puckett edged out Chris Woods to take the Limited Late Model win, with Gus Simpson in third, Scott Frady in fourth and Ken Lampp in fifth.

Tracy Pannell was the winner in the Modified Street feature, with Ronnie Poole in second, Preston Strickland in third, Jimmy Lee Langley in fourth and Jordan Poole in fifth.

Mark Chancey scored the victory in the Stock V8 feature, with Ronnie Poole in second, Trey Pilgrim in third, Trip Sexton in fourth and Zach Brown in fifth.

P.J. Taylor was first to cross under the checkered flag for the Stock 4A win. Justin Taylor, Joseph Dyer, Roger Cothran and Robert Kennedy rounded out the top five.

Tyler Thompson was the winner in the Stock 4B feature, with Grand Roberts second, Elliott Brayboy third, James Robinson fourth and D.J. Weckerly fifth.

Winder-Barrow Speedway returns to action on Saturday, September 16. For more information, visit

Winder-Barrow Speedway – Winder, GA
Race Results – September 9, 2017

602 Thunder Series
1. #11 Lee Gray
2. #44 Rod Roberts
3. #47 Dustin Cason
4. #84 Brian Grumble
5. #4 Chad Atha
6. #71 Nick Sellers
7. #4 Jerome Hanson
8. #0 Blake Harmon-DNF
9. #49 Cameron Crowe-DNF

Limited Late Models
1. #3 Chad Puckett
2. #17 Chris Woods
3. #11 Gus Simpson
3. #1 Scott Frady
4. #1K Ken Lampp
5. #112 Tyler Canup
7. #7 John Anderson
8. #0 Shawn Tullis
9. #98 Jimmy Johnson-DNF

Modified Street
1. #17 Tracy Pannell
2. #1 Ronnie Poole
3. #94 Preston Strickland
4. #78 Jimmy Lee Langley
5. #99 Jordan Poole
6. #17 Chris Jones-DNF
7. #10 Wormy Gaddis-DNF
8. #521 Paige Cox-DNF

Stock V8
1. #20 Mark Chancey
2. #55 Ronnie Poole
3. #7 Trey Pilgrim
4. #69 Trip Sexton
5. #23 Zach Brown
6. #44 Tim Corbin
7. #41 Dalton Lavender
8. #47 Aaron Groce
9. #4 Stephen House-DNF

Stock 4A
1. #2 P.J. Taylor
2. #02 Justin Taylor
3. #3 Joseph Dyer
4. #03 Roger Cothran
5. #16 Robert Kennedy
6. #73 Greg Cox
7. #17 Will Sanders
8. #12 Coty Sanders-DNF
9. #30 Scotty Cox-DNF

Stock 4B
1. #17 Tyler Thompson
2. #9 Grant Roberts
3. #2 Elliott Brayboy
4. #10 James Robinson
5. #21 D.J. Weckerly
6. #6 Brandon Franklin
7. #72 Brandon Cox
8. #17 Adam Jones
9. #55 Franklin Sargent
10. #83 Josh Clark
11. #00 Derrick Murray
12. #67 Stephen Bradshaw
13. #14 Dustin Kennedy
14. #71 Randall Jenkins-DNF
15. #83B Vince Henderson-DNF

  • Associated Categories: Sports, NASCAR News, Other Motorsports
  • Associated Tags: motorsports, Auto Racing, Dirt Track, Stock Car, Short Track, Dirt Late Model, Winder-Barrow Speedway
© Copyright 2018
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.