Friday July 20th, 2018 4:12PM

Eric Riggins, Jr. takes USCS Sprints victory at Dixie

By Series PR
  Contact Editor

WOODSTOCK, Ga. - Eric Riggins, Jr. drove to victory lane at Dixie Speedway in Woodstock, Georgia with a wire-to-wire win in Saturday night’s USCS Sprint Car Series feature.

The Charlotte, North Carolina driver started the night on the outside of the front row, and surged to the lead on the opening lap. From there, Riggins went on to score his second series win at Dixie in a race that went caution-free.

Riggins held as much as a half straightaway lead during the race, but in the closing laps, the race leader encountered heavy lapped traffic, allowing Morgan Turpen to challenge for the lead. Riggins wouldn’t give up the preferred inside groove, and held on for the victory.

“Dixie Speedway has been very good to me, as I got my first USCS win here,” Riggins said. “I really had to slow my pace in lapped traffic, as it seemed everyone wanted the bottom groove, but as long as we covered it, I figured it would be tough to pass me.”

Turpen had to settle for the second, with pole sitter Joey Schmidt in third, series points leader Jordon Mallett in fourth, and Scott Hunter in fifth.

Jake McLain, Brian Thomas of Pendergrass, Georgia, Jeff Willingham, Joe Larkin of Suwanee, Goergia and Bo Barber rounded out the top ten.

In preliminary action, Hunter won the six-lap Hoosier Speed Dash, while Gray and Willingham won the heat races.

Riggins took the lead from his outside front row starting spot at the start of the race, followed by Schmidt, Mallett, Turpen, and McLain. Turpen went to the inside groove to drive past Mallett coming off the fourth turn of the opening lap to take over the third spot. While Riggins began to pull away, Turpen closed in on Schmidt to challenge for the second spot by lap five.

Turpen was able to get an inside run on Schmidt coming off the second turn on lap nine, and scooted by to take over the second position. By this time, Riggins had opened up a half straightaway lead on the field. With ten laps to go, Riggins moved up on a tight three-car battle for sixth among McLain, Thomas, and Willingham.

While Riggins slowed his pace to work lap traffic, Turpen closed to challenge for the lead on lap 24. Riggins kept covering the bottom groove, and Turpen had no other path available to make a pass for the lead. From there, Riggins held on to take the win by a five car-length margin of victory.

The USCS Sprint Car Series returns to action at Carolina Speedway in Gastonia, North Carolina on Friday night, September 22, and at Cherokee Speedway in Gaffney, South Carolina on Saturday night, September 23.

For more information, visit

In local division action, Oliver Gentry took the Steel Head Late Model feature win, with Dalton Polston in second, Mario Gresham in third, Donnie Thurman in fourth and Rob Johnson in fifth.

Will Roland scored the victory in the Crate Late Model feature. Bobby Richey, Jr. finished in second, followed by Logan Palmer in third, A.J. Carlisi in fourth and Jason Morris in fifth.

Alan Brewer was the winner in the Super Bomber feature, with Jerry Fowler second, Scott Franks third, Adam Pruett fourth and Billy Callahan fifth.

Andrew Moody took the victory in the Economy Bomber feature, followed by James Gagnon in second. Randy Smith, Dylan Armstrong and Andrew Johnson rounded out the top five.

Tim Williams went home the winner of the Street Stingers feature, with Blake Stewart in second, Byron Sisson in third, Jimmy Tillery in fourth and Josh Deese in fifth.

For more information on Dixie Speedway, visit

USCS Sprint Car Series
Dixie Speedway – Woodstock, GA
Race Results – September 9, 2017

1. 2 47 Eric Riggins Jr. Charlotte, NC
2. 3 10m Morgan Turpen Cordova, TN
3. 1 1s Joey Schmidt Ellisville, TN
4. 4 14 Jordon Mallett Greenbrier, AR
5. 8 1x Scott Hunter Concord, NC
6. 7 67m Jake McLain Indian Trail, NC
7. 9 67t Brian Thomas Pendergrass, GA
8. 5 28 Jeff Willingham Ripley, MS
9. 12 33 Joe Larkin Suwanee, GA
10. 11 14b Bo Barber Clarksville, TN
11. 10 25 Ray Bugg Iuka, MS
12. 13 07 Brandon Taylor Cumming, GA
DNS: 6 10 Terry Gray Bartlett, TN

Local Division Results

Steel Head Late Models/525
1. 03 – Oliver Gentry
2. 00 – Dalton Polston
3. 21 – Mario Gresham
4. 57 – Donnie Thurman
5. 9 – Rob Johnson
6. 40 – Andy Morris
7. 26 – B.J. Fisher
8. 20 – Chris Sizemore
9. 43 – Tim Ford
10. 34 – Chris McCullough
11. 51 – Donnie Whatley
12. 08 – Justin Shipley
13. 19 – Gathan Burns
14. D8 – Dakota Weeks
DNS: 16 – Wesley English

Crate Late Models
1. 22 – Will Roland
2. 11 – Bobby Richey, Jr.
3. 14 – Logan Palmer
4. 00 – A.J. Carlisi
5. 5 – Jason Morris
6. 1 – Andy Picklesimer
7. 73 – Matt Stewart
8. 1 – George Wilson
9. 33 – Brody Bullard
10. 57 – Troy Dixon
11. 151 – David Turner

Super Bombers
1. 22 – Alan Brewer
2. 9 – Jerry Fowler
3. 4 – Scott Franks
4. 2 – Adam Pruett
5. 32 – Billy Callahan

Economy Bomber
1. 4M – Andrew Moody
2. 35 – James Gagnon
3. 21 – Randy Smith
4. 10 – Dylan Armstrong
5. 79 – Andrew Johnson
6. 83 – Randy Ledford
DNS: D7 – Dylan Truhan
DNS: 23 – Travis Smith
DNS: 19 – Kenneth Burns

Street Stingers
1. 87 – Tim Williams
2. 89 – Blake Stewart
3. 28 – Byron Sisson
4. 27 – Jimmy Tillery
5. 3 – Josh Deese
6. 77 – Brian Evans
7. 99 – Shawn Harper
8. 17 – Cody Sisson
9. 4 – Rick Ricks
10. 19 – Jason Minter
DNS: 99 – John Summerville
DNS: 6 – Jordan Tillery

  • Associated Categories: NASCAR News, Other Motorsports
  • Associated Tags: motorsports, Open Wheel, Auto Racing, USCS, Sprint Car, Dirt Track
© Copyright 2018
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.