Thursday December 13th, 2018 11:31AM

Lord edges Little for Stock 4 Champ Race win at Hartwell

By Brandon Reed Reporter
  Contact Editor

Georgia’s Hartwell Speedway closed out the 2017 season with a night of Championship races for drivers who had competed at least three times at the raceway during the season.

Jeffery Lord closed out the Stock Four division’s season with an exciting finish.

Lord spent much of the 15 lap feature working to hold off a determined Chris Little, who looked time and again for a way to take the lead. As the duo raced into turn three on the final lap, Little charged to the outside line, pulling alongside Lord as they raced off of turn four.

Lord and Little made contact as they sped under the flag stand, with Lord ahead by just feet to score the victory. Little had to settle for second, followed by Pete Whitley in third, Mike Little in fourth and Ricky Rule in fifth.

In other action, Larry Timms sped to the lead off the start of the Crate Late Model feature from the pole, and went on to hold off Danny Sanders to record the win. Grant Jordan finished in third, with Sam Hicks in fourth and Eric Veal in fifth.

Joe Yarbrough scored the win in the Hobby feature, with Stephen Segars, Cody Smith, Taylor Griffith and Kevin Tullis rounding out the top five.

Thomas Segars edged out Daniel Doster for the Modified Street victory, with Michael McTier in third, Jennifer Everett in fourth and Russell Shore in fifth.

Shannon Duck took the win in the Stock V8 feature. Cal Moon finished in second, followed by Stephen House in third, Jack Hill in fourth and Joseph Teasley in fifth.

B.J. Gillespie was the winner in the Up Front feature, followed by Seth Brown in second, Randy Shaw in third, North West in fourth and John Shaw in fifth.

Keith Ross scored the win and took home the $500 top prize with a win in the Enduro feature. Landon Hardman finished second, with Dustin Carruth third and Carmon Shore fourth.

Hartwell Speedway track photographer Heather Rhoades used a last lap pass when Mindy Epps spun out of the lead to score the victory in the Powder Puff feature.

For more information on Hartwell Speedway, visit

Hartwell Speedway – Hartwell, GA
Race Results – Nov. 4, 2017

Stock Four
1. #13 Jeffery Lord
2. #15B Chris Little
3. #7x Pete Whitley
4. #11 Mike Little
5. #51 Ricky Rule
6. #45 Donald McDonald

Crate Late Models
1. #07 Larry Timms
2. #4 Danny Sanders
3. #05 Grant Jordan
4. #19 Sam Hicks
5. #3 Eric Veal
6. #11 Derrick Harvey
7. #52 Brad Basey

1. #41 Joe Yarbrough
2. #114 Stephen Segars
3. #10 Cody Smith
4. #49 Taylor Griffith
5. #3 Kevin Tullis
6. #23 Joe Cash
7. #4 Chad Atha
8. #11 Jake Anderson
9. #96 Austin Brumbelow

Modified Street
1. #5 Thomas Segars
2. #104 Daniel Doster
3. #K2 Michael McTier
4. #J19 Jennifer Everett
5. #7 Russell Shore
6. #33 Aaron McIntosh
7. #19 Johnny Pilgrim
8. #16 Shannon Tucker

Stock V8
1. #33 Shannon Duck
2. #69 Cal Moon
3. #4 Stephen House
4. #54 Jack Hill
5. #77 Joseph Teasley
6. #10 Chris Brown
7. #K5 Porkchop Kennedy
8. #28 George Fortson

Up Front
1. #22 B.J. Gillespie
2. #55 Seth Brown
3. #44 Randy Shaw
4. #27 North West
5. #6 John Shaw
6. #58X Eddie Segars
7. #45 J.J. Sorrow

1. #11 Keith Ross
2. #5 Landon Hardman
3. #01 Dustin Carruth
4. #17 Carmon Shore

Powder Puff
1. #5S Heather Rhoades
2. #77 Name Not Available
3. #00 Mindy Epps
4. #45 Trista Fortson
5. #55 Haley Brown
6. #K5 Tara Kennedy

  • Associated Categories: Sports, NASCAR News, Other Motorsports
  • Associated Tags: motorsports, Auto Racing, Dirt Track, Stock Car, Short Track, Dirt Late Model, Hartwell Speedway
© Copyright 2018
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.