Thursday October 19th, 2017 9:21PM

Kevin Vassar beats brother for first Gresham Truck win

By Track PR
  Contact Editor
JEFFERSON, GA - It was brother versus brother as Kevin and Matt Vassar capped a competitive night of racing Saturday at Gresham Motorsports Park in Jefferson, GA.<br /> <br /> The two GMP Pro Truck Division drivers battled side-by-by side for most of the 30-lap event - the last race of the evening - before Kevin Vassar scooted away for the victory.<br /> <br /> Kevin Vassar took the lead early and built a sizeable margin before older brother Matt Vassar hunted him down midway through the event. With Rodney Benefield right on their tailgates, the Vassars clicked off lap after lap with Matt running the bottom groove and Kevin holding the high line.<br /> <br /> With three laps to go, Matt Vassar's truck wiggled coming off of turn 4 of the GMP half-mile oval giving Kevin Vassar just enough room to score the win. Matt Vassar held on to capture the runner-up position with Benefield in tow for third. Cody Haskins made his first GMP appearance of 2014 a good one with a solid fourth-place finish while Jamie Weimer and Cecil Flowe rounded out the top finishers.<br /> <br /> The Pro Truck race was just one of eight main events to be contested Saturday at the Jefferson, GA racing facility.<br /> <br /> The night marked the first 2014 GMP appearance of the INEX Bandolero and Legends and neither disappointed staging a trio of action-packed events.<br /> <br /> In the Bandolero Bandit 20-lap feature event, Houston, TX driver Blake Cisneros outdueled Hunter Jarrett, Nathan Jackson, Clay Thompson and Connor Younger for the victory while Justin Taylor staged a spirited battle with Nick MacMillan before pulling away at the finish to nab the checkers in the Bandolero Outlaw 20-lap main.<br /> <br /> Meanwhile, the Legends returned to GMP for the first time in three seasons and they didn't disappoint with Zach Leonhardi slipping by Jeff Holden on the final lap to earn the victory in the 25-lap quarter-mile battle.<br /> <br /> The action wasn't limited to the 'little' cars as Brian Sosebee and Jacky Daniel traded paint throughout the 25-lap Sportsman headliner. The pair got together several times while battling for the lead leaving the top spot to Michael Mobley midway through the event. Eventually, Sosebee and Daniel worked their way back to the lead and settled the affair on the final lap with a fender-banging finish. Sosebee took home the trophy and the $400 first-place money while Mobley grabbed the runner-up spot. Jody Cash made his first 2014 GMP appearance a profitable one taking home third-place money.<br /> <br /> Rob Hubbard turned in a solid fourth-place effort while Daniel had to settle for fifth after his last-lap tangle with Sosebee. Billy Coker earned sixth and the hard-luck award for the evening when a mid-race crash relegated him to sixth in the Sportsman feature.<br /> <br /> Meanwhile, Gary Zajdek and Brian Sutton continued to provide some of the best racing at GMP this season battling for the win in the Front Wheel Drive Division. The pair of four-cylinder drivers have been all but glued together this season and Saturday was no exception as they swapped the lead twice in the 25-lap FWD main before Zajdek gained the top hand at the finish.<br /> <br /> The sixth - and final main event on the GMP quarter-mile oval - saw veteran Renegade campaigner Mike Childers roar off to a big lead and never look back in beating Bryan Beckner, Chris Whitfield and Dave Beckner to the checkered flag in the 25-lap event.<br /> <br /> The final highlight of Saturday's GMP 'Stockerama' program came on the half-mile oval as Lee Langford bested a solid field in the 30-lap Outlaw Late Model feature event. Langford, a long-time GMP veteran, earned the win thanks to a fast car and a steady hand besting Dennis Wilder, Russell Shore, David Murphy and Hoyt Stephens, who was making his first appearance of the year at GMP.<br /> <br /> The Outlaw Late Models, Trucks, Legends, Bandos, FWD's, Renegades, and Sportsman will be back at GMP for another Stockerama on Saturday, August 16.<br /> <br /> Next up at GMP will be the 31st-Annual World Crown 300 Presented By Victory Junction, as the Southern Super Series hits the Jefferson high banks on Saturday, Aug. 9. For more info, visit <a href="" target="_blank"></a>.<br /> <br /> <strong>Gresham Motorsports Park - Jefferson, GA</strong><br /> <strong> Stockerama Race Results - Aug. 2, 2014</strong><br /> <br /> <span style="text-decoration: underline;"><strong>Bandit Bandoleros</strong></span><br /> 1. Blake Cisneros<br /> 2. Hunter Jarrett<br /> 3. Nathan Jackson<br /> 4. Clay Thompson<br /> 5. Conner Younger<br /> 6. Hunter Hutchens<br /> 7. Xander Broadbent<br /> <br /> <span style="text-decoration: underline;"><strong>Outlaw Bandoleros</strong></span><br /> 1. Justin Taylor<br /> 2. Nick MacMillan<br /> 3. Hunter Jarrett<br /> 4. Henry Broadbent, Jr.<br /> 5. Blake Cisneros<br /> 6. Dylan Rumboldt<br /> <br /> <span style="text-decoration: underline;"><strong>Legends</strong></span><br /> 1. Zach Leonhardi (Semi Pro)<br /> 2. Jeff Holden (Young Lions)<br /> 3. R. S. Senter (Semi-Pro)<br /> 4. Cruise Caudell (Young Lions)<br /> <br /> <span style="text-decoration: underline;"><strong>Sportsman</strong></span><br /> 1. Brian Sosebee<br /> 2. Michael Mobley<br /> 3. Jody Cash<br /> 4. Rob Hubbard<br /> 5. Jackie Daniel<br /> 6. Billy Coker<br /> <br /> <span style="text-decoration: underline;"><strong>Renegades</strong></span><br /> 1. Mike Childers<br /> 2. Bryan Beckner<br /> 3. Chris Whitfield<br /> 4. Dave Beckner<br /> <br /> <span style="text-decoration: underline;"><strong>FWD's</strong></span><br /> 1. Gary Zajdek<br /> 2. Brian Sutton<br /> 3. Shaun Mize<br /> 4. Lance Partain<br /> <br /> <span style="text-decoration: underline;"><strong>Trucks</strong></span><br /> 1. Kevin Vassar<br /> 2. Matt Vassar<br /> 3. Rodney Benefield<br /> 4. Cody Haskins<br /> 5. Jami Weimer<br /> 6. Cecil Flowe<br /> <br /> <span style="text-decoration: underline;"><strong>Outlaw Late Models</strong></span><br /> 1. Lee Langford<br /> 2. Dennis Wilder<br /> 3. Russell Shore<br /> 4. David Murphy<br /> 5. Hoyt Stephens<br /> 6. Brian Hardman<br /> 7. Shawn Simpson<br /> 8. Jim Bennett
© Copyright 2017
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.