Tuesday October 17th, 2017 12:34PM

Ryan Hunter-Reay honored as 2nd quarter Driver of the Year

By The Associated Press
  Contact Editor
INDIANAPOLIS, IN - Indianapolis 500 winner Ryan Hunter-Reay has been named second quarter Driver of the Year, an award voted on by a panel of American broadcasters and journalists<br /> <br /> Hunter-Reay also won the Honda Indy Grand Prix in Alabama and was runner-up in the inaugural Indianapolis Grand Prix in the second quarter.<br /> <br /> "Seems like the good news keeps rolling in after winning the Indy 500," said Hunter-Reay, who was also beat Jimmie Johnson and Dale Earnhardt, Jr. for best driver at the ESPYs last week.<br /> <br /> Hunter-Reay received eight first-place votes and totaled 102 points in the voting system. NASCAR's Johnson received six first-place votes and totaled 84 points.<br /> <br /> NHRA driver Antron Brown was third in voting with 45 points. NASCAR's Brad Keselowski, who finished fourth in the voting, also received one first place vote.<br /> <br /> A total of 20 drivers scored points in the second quarter voting. In its' 48th year, the Driver of the Year award is decided by 17 panelists. Two panelists didn't vote in the second quarter.
© Copyright 2017
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.