Thursday September 21st, 2017 7:00PM

Morris nabs first win of the year at Senoia Raceway

By Track PR
  Contact Editor
SENOIA, GA - Defending Jodeco Auto Sales Late Model champion Glenn Morris of Fayetteville has been absent from Senoia Raceway's victory lane this season. That changed this past Saturday night as Morris powered past Phenix City, Alabama's Lavon Sparks and then held off Thomaston's Shane Fulcher for the feature win.<br /> <br /> Joining Morris in the winner's circle were LaGrange's David Osbahr besting the field in the Newnan Bonding B Cadets, Covington's Sam Carter in the Summit Racing Equipment Hobby Stock, Hampton's Marc Leath in the Senoia Drug Company Mini Stock and Dustin Smith in the A1 Hydraulics Bomber. James Stansel of Douglasville won his debut piloting a Legends Car winning the main event for the motorcycle engine powered race cars.<br /> <br /> Morris qualified on the pole for the first time this season, but had to hold off former track champion Lavon Sparks at the drop of the green. Sparks tried valiantly to get past Morris, but slipped allowing him to move out front. The slip continued three laps later when Fulcher was able to get past and secure second.<br /> <br /> Fulcher caught up to Morris near the end, but Morris was on a mission to gain his first win of the season and pad his points lead. Sparks ended up third ahead of Jayce Southwell and LaGrange's Tod Darda.<br /> <br /> Bowden's Wesley Lyle and Jonesboro's Jason Miller battled for the lead in the feature for the Newnan Bonding B Cadet. Lyle was the race's first leader, but cut a tire near the middle of the race, forcing him to the pit area. Miller inherited the lead while a pair of LaGrange drviers fought it out for the second place spot. David OsBahr and Buck Ussery ran side by side for several laps before Osbahr was able to break loose and then tackle Miller for the lead.<br /> <br /> With only seven laps remaining, Osbahr, with Ussery on the inside, moved up in turn one then sliced to the low side out of turn two to get a run on Miller. The two raced to turn three with Osbahr getting the advantage and overtaking the number one spot. He would go on to record his fourth victory of the year. Miller finished second and moved into the divisional points lead while Ussery had his best finish at Senoia in third.<br /> <br /> Sam Carter started on the outside front row for the Summit Racing Equipment Hobby Stock feature, with many of the hottest drivers starting further back in the field. Carter darted to the initial lead while Williamson's Houston Hatchett and Franklin duo Ben and Chris Steele patiently waited for opportunities to gain positions and move towards the front. Forsyth's Bill Brown, Milner's Ben Wells and Griffin's Chad Foster were emblazoned in a dog fight while Carter moved further and further into the lead.<br /> <br /> As the cross flags came out for the halfway mark, Hatchett and Chris Steele were able to work past Brown and Wells. A caution also closed up the field, allowing the fast climbing pair to restart closer to Carter and Foster. The restart was costly for Foster as he slid high in turn two giving the room to Hatchett and then Steele to move past. The boys chased down Carter, but were unable to overcome the leader.<br /> <br /> Carter won his second of the season ahead of points leader Hatchett and Chris Steele. Foster would come home in fourth with Brown rounding out the first five.<br /> <br /> A pair of Senoia drivers squared off in the A1 Hydraulics Bomber main as Dustin Smith and Winford Minix decided the outcome. Smith led for the entire race as Minix worked his way towards the front. A late race caution assisted Minix in catching Smith, but the checkers would fly over Smith first at the finish line with Minix settling for the runner-up spot this week after winning the previous Saturday. Griffin rookie Alex Rudolph was third followed by Jay Conner of Alvaton and Josh Roddy of Palmetto.<br /> <br /> Marc Leath held off a mid-race charge by Hampton's Brandon Brock to win the race for the Mini Stock while Douglasville's James Stansel kept former national legend car dirt champion Dwight Pilgram at bay for the Legends Car laurels. It was the first time that Stansel had ever raced a Legends Car.<br /> <br /> Senoia Raceway returns to action on Saturday with the Country Financial Father's Day Late Model Summer Shoot-Out. The late model special event will feature the increased purse for the late models along with a full line-up of racing in the track's weekly divisions.<br /> <br /> <strong>Senoia Raceway - Senoia, GA</strong><br /> <strong> Race Results - June 7, 2014</strong><br /> <br /> <span style="text-decoration: underline;"><strong>Late Models</strong></span><br /> 1. Glenn Morris<br /> 2. Shane Fulcher<br /> 3. Lavon Sparks<br /> 4. Jayce Southwell<br /> 5. Tod Darda<br /> 6. Parrish Duncan<br /> 7. Corey Payton<br /> DNS: Marcus Caswell<br /> <br /> <span style="text-decoration: underline;"><strong>B Cadets</strong></span><br /> 1. David Osbahr<br /> 2. Jason Miller<br /> 3. Buck Ussery<br /> 4. Zack Privette<br /> 5. Wesley Lyle<br /> 6. Bennie Croy<br /> 7. Melissa Still<br /> DNS: Donald Doyle, T.J. Joiner<br /> <br /> <span style="text-decoration: underline;"><strong>Hobby Stocks</strong></span><br /> 1. Sam Carter<br /> 2. Houston Hatchett<br /> 3. Chris Steele<br /> 4. Chad Foster<br /> 5. Bill Brown<br /> 6. Bryson Ussery<br /> 7. Ben Steele<br /> 8. Ben Wells<br /> 9. Ronnie Thacker<br /> DNS: Kerry Carden, Mike Jenkins<br /> <br /> <span style="text-decoration: underline;"><strong>Mini Stocks</strong></span><br /> 1. Marc Leath<br /> 2. Brandon Brock<br /> 3. Cassie Dingler. Still<br /> <br /> <span style="text-decoration: underline;"><strong>Bombers</strong></span><br /> 1. Dustin Smith<br /> 2. Winford Minix<br /> 3. Alex Rudolph<br /> 4. Jay Conner<br /> 5. Josh Roddy<br /> 6. Jim Jackson<br /> <br /> <span style="text-decoration: underline;"><strong>Legends Cars</strong></span><br /> 1. James Stansel<br /> 2. Dwight Pilgram<br /> 3. Mike Younginer<br /> 4. Meghan Younginer<br /> 5. Chris Middleton<br /> 6. Tim Guy<br /> 7. Tony Armbruster
© Copyright 2017
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.