Sunday October 4th, 2015 5:17AM

Porter picks up Late Model Stock victory at Anderson

By Brandon Reed Reporter
Related Articles
WILLIAMSTON, SC - Randy Porter made a return to familiar territory Friday night, as he parked in victory lane at Anderson Motor Speedway in Williamston, SC after winning the Late Model Stock feature.

Porter outdueled Anthony Anders to pick up the win. R.A. Brown came across the finish line in second, with Dillon Bassett in fourth and Kenneth Headen rounding out the top five.

In other action, David Darnell came out on top of the Mini-Stock feature, beating out Chad Campbell for the victory. Trace Embry finished in third, with Luke Sorrow in fourth and B.J. Thrasher in fifth.

Steve Gutherie topped the field for the Renegade feature. Andrew Cordell finished in second, with Troy Carnes in third, Blake Gregory in fourth and Chris Whitfield in fifth.

Ted Somero scored the win in the Super Renegades feature. Billy Coker, Joe Satterfield, Whitney Suttles and Joe Evans rounded out the top five.

In U.S. Legends action, Justin Ashely was first under the checkered flag to pick up the win. Drew Brown finished in second, with Van Brown in third, Dwayne Rumsey in fourth and Rex Brown in fifth.

Brian King was the winner in the Front Wheel Drive feature. Chris Harvell came across in second, with Jack Hooper in third, Michael Cross in fourth and Tommy Davis in fifth.

Anderson Motor Speedway plays host to the Knights of Destruction on Saturday, May 10, along with action from the Front Wheel Drive division.

Anderson Motor Speedway - Williamston, SC
Race Results - May 2, 2014

Late Model Stock
1. #32 Randy Porter
2. #36 Anthony Anders
3. #60 R.A. Brown
4. #44 Dillon Bassett
5. #99 Kenneth Headen
6. #18 David Roberts
7. #41 Dylan Smith
8. #14 Joe Wilder
9. #9 Justin Sorrow
10. #33 Daniel Alvarez
11. #72 Brandon Segars
12. #8 Eric Stokes
13. #2 Cody Haskins
14. #35 Tasha Kummer
15. #42 Jeremy Drummond
16. #3 Brandon Fox
17. #11 Brent Fox
18. #63 Matt Lockee

1. #28 David Darnell
2. #17 Chad Campbell
3. #9 Trace Embry
4. #9 Luke Sorrow
5. #19 B.J. Thrasher
6. #1 Brian Porter
7. #26 Shaun Mize
8. #16 Colby Howard

1. #5 Steve Guthrie
2. #33 Andrew Cordell
3. #71 Troy Carnes
4. #36 Blake Gregory
5. #1 Chris Whitfield
6. #82 Jimmy Rowland
7. #6 David Cepek

Super Renegades
1. #54 Ted Somero
2. #45 Billy Coker
3. #59 Joe Satterfield
4. #14 Whitey Suttles
5. #550 Joe Evans

US Legends
1. #50 Justin Ashely
2. #15 Drew Brown
3. #3 Van Brown
4. #7 Dwayne Rumsey
5. #75 Rex Brown
6. #75 Steve Allen

Front Wheel Drive
1. #7 Brian King
2. #8 Chris "Rabbit" Harvell
3. #63 Jack Hooper
4. #44 Michael Cross
5. #69 Tommy Davis
6. #221 C.J. Huitt
7. #221B Donovan Beacham
8. #95 Terry Hawthorne
9. #069 Tommy Davis, Sr.
10. #96 Brandi Presnell
11. #42 Justin Houston
12. #55 Casey Burkett
13. #2 Kristin Carnes
14. #41 Ray Mullinax
15. #98 J.T. Fitzgerald
16. #54 George Oliver
17. #29 Kayla Davis
18. #12 Lance Partain
19. #13 Travis Elgin
© Copyright 2015
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.
2014 Top 10: Looking back at the top sports stories of the year
It was another year for the record books in 2014, mostly for the right reasons -- state championships, new challenges and new stars taking their turn to shine. But there were also plenty of big stories that reminded us that sports -- like life -- isn
11:55PM ( 9 months ago )
NASCAR K&N Pro Series schedules set for 2015
DAYTONA BEACH, FL - NASCAR announced recently the 2015 schedules for its top developmental regional touring series, the NASCAR K&N Pro Series East and NASCAR K&N Pro Series West.
2:00PM ( 9 months ago )
Lanierland boys final: Johnson makes history with win over Red Elephants <b> (VIDEO) </b>
Ever the aggressor on the court, Johnson
8:55AM ( 9 months ago )
Pits will be tight as Chili Bowl entry count hits 316
TULSA, OK - The 29th annual Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Midget Nationals presented by General Tire is on track to be a record smashing event, with the entry count climbing over the 300 mark for the first time to 316 entries confirming 303 drivers for the indoor spectacular happening Tuesday, January 13 through Saturday, January 17 at the Tulsa Expo Center in Tulsa, OK.
9:59AM ( 9 months ago )
Falcons fire Mike Smith after 2nd straight losing season
Mike Smith's status as the winningest coach in Falcons history wasn't enough to save his job. Owner Arthur Blank said he fired Smith on Monday because in his "heart of hearts" he didn't believe Smith could take the Falcons to the Super Bowl.
7:58PM ( 9 months ago )
New promoters in place for 2015 at Senoia Raceway
SENOIA, GA - Lease papers have been signed and a team of new promoters is in place for the upcoming stock car racing season at Senoia Raceway in Senoia, GA.
6:00AM ( 9 months ago )
Professional Sports
Garbo, Jr. to compete in NASCAR K&N East with Whelen sponsorship
CHARLOTTE, NC--(BUSINESS WIRE)-- When Marsh Racing and longtime team sponsor Whelen Engineering Company, Inc. got the opportunity to put together a race team for 2015, they looked closely at the NASCAR K&N Pro Series East.
12:00PM ( 9 months ago )
Former NASCAR racer pleads guilty in high-speed chase
12:51PM ( 9 months ago )
Chili Bowl entry list again nearing record 300 mark
TULSA, OK - For the past couple years, the entry list for the Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals has flirted with the 300 mark. Once again, the number of teams registering for the indoor Midget event is nearing the three century mark with 285 entries received for the 29th annual Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals.
11:59AM ( 9 months ago )
Watkinsville's Townley scores first Truck Series win at Las Vegas
John Wes Townley collected his first NASCAR Camping World Truck Series victory at Las Vegas Motor Speedway Saturday night, saving just enough fuel during his final run to win the Rhino Linings 350.
By Owen A. Kearns-Special to NASCAR Wire Service
2:20AM ( 2 hours ago )
Fittipaldi, Barbosa capture Prototype title at Petit Le Mans
Christian Fittipaldi and Joao Barbosa – with an assist by IndyCar star Sebastien Bourdais – overcame treacherous weather conditions on Saturday at Road Atlanta, using a Prototype (P) class victory in the rain-shortened 18th edition of the Petit Le Mans powered by Mazda to clinch their second consecutive TUDOR United SportsCar Championship.
By Nate Siebens
1:31AM ( 3 hours ago )
Watson leads No. 22 Clemson over Notre Dame
Former Gainesville High standout Deshaun Watson threw for two touchdowns, ran for a third, and Clemson's defense stopped DeShone Kizer on a tying two-point conversion as the 12th-ranked Tigers held on to beat No. 6 Notre Dame 24-22 on Saturday night.
By The Associated Press
12:28AM ( 4 hours ago )
Tide rolls over Dogs in a rout
Jake Coker ran the offense to perfection, the defense turned in a dominating performance, and No. 13 Alabama even got a touchdown from its special teams Saturday in a 38-10 rout of No. 8 Georgia that re-established the Crimson Tide as a force in the national race.
By The Associated Press
11:59PM ( 5 hours ago )
Williams leads North Carolina rally past Georgia Tech
Quinshad Davis threw a 37-yard touchdown pass to quarterback Marquise Williams, capping North Carolina's comeback from a three-touchdown deficit, and the Tar Heels beat Georgia Tech 38-31 on Saturday.
By The Associated Press
11:25PM ( 5 hours ago )