Tuesday September 26th, 2017 1:45AM

Jones opens Senoia season with first career Late Model victory

By Staff
  Contact Editor
SENOIA - The 2014 stock car racing season opened at Senoia Raceway in Senoia, GA Saturday night and four drivers found victory lane for the first time within their divisions. LaGrange's Dusty Jones notched his first career victory in the Jodeco Auto Sales Late Model division after capturing the rookie of the year title last season.

Jones held off an early charge by Tod Darda before outrunning the defending divisional champion Glenn Morris to nab the late model laurels.

Jones battled with fellow LaGrange driver Tod Darda for the first two circuits before Darda broke coming out of turn three. Darda had shot out to the lead ahead of pole-sitter Jones, but got caught up in a deep rut breaking a lower control arm. Jones then held off seventeen-year-old 'Magic' Matt Dooley for the next fifteen laps. Dooley broke a rear hub with only three laps remaining. His final test came from defending Jodeco Auto Sales Late Model champion Glenn Morris of Fayetteville.

Jones picked up his first career late model victory ahead of Morris, Thomaston's Shane Fulcher, Newnan's Parrish Duncan and Woody Woodruff of Peachtree City.

"I don't know if I had anything for Tod," said Jones afterwards. "But, I sure would have liked to have gotten the chance. Maybe next week."

Douglasville's James Stansel squeezed into a three wide hole to overtake the lead in the Senoia Drug Company Mini Stock main event. He slid in between Newnan's Bobby 'Wild Child' Arnold and Brandon 'Goose' Libri before cruising to his first career win at Senoia Raceway. Hampton's Brandon Brock would end up second ahead of Barnesviile's Gary Parker. Both Arnold and Libri would break before the checkers fell over the field.

"I have to thank Dorough Bright for letting me drive this great car," said Stansel during the victory lane interview.

Senoia's Dustin Smith passed Valley, Alabama's Paul Walters after Walters broke a rear axle and then held off Griffin's John Holcomb and Whitesburg's Ricky Neill to notch his first win ever at the 3/8ths mile speed plant. Neill ended up losing his position as he was light across the scales.

Carrollton's Dustin Smith made it two for two for guys named Dustin Smith. In the Modified Mini feature race, Smith took advantage of Robbie Scadron's misfortune. The Sharpsburg driver was leading when he blew a head gasket on lap four. Smith went on to win his second straight opening night feature. He also won last season's opening night feature for the Modified Mini.

Sharpsburg's Robert Chandler held Jonesboro's Jason Miller and Newnan's Johnny Stinchcomb at bay for the 20-lap feature for the Newnan Bonding B Cadets. It was a first for Chandler winning on Senoia Raceway soil.

Roopville's Clifton 'Hog Head' Moran started on the pole and ran away from Williamson's Houston Hatchett to win the main event for the Summit Racing Equipment Hobby Stocks. Hatchett ran a strong second with Covington's Sam 'Bam' Carter coming home third.

Next Saturday, April 5, Senoia Raceway will host the 4th annual Spring Fling 40 for the Jodeco Auto Sales Late Model division. The fastest cars competing weekly at Senoia Raceway will be highlighted with a pair of 20-lap specials paying $1000 to win each. Defending Spring Fling champion Russ Ogletree is expected to be back to defend his title. The Newnan Bonding B Cadets, Summit Racing Equipment Hobby Stocks, Senoia Drug Company Mini Stocks, A-1 Hydraulics Bombers and Modified Mini will also be on the racing card.

Senoia Raceway - Senoia, GA
Race Results - March 29, 2014

Late Models
1. Dusty Jones
2. Glenn Morris
3. Shane Fulcher
4. Parrish Duncan
5. Woody Woodruff
6. Matt Dooley
7. Tod Darda

B Cadets
1. Robert Chandler
2. Jason Miller
3. Johnny Stinchcomb

Hobby Stocks
1. Clifton Moran
2. Houston Hatchett
3. Sam Carter
4. William Blair
5. Chad Foster
6. Mike Jenkins
7. Bill Brown
8. Ben Wells

Mini Stocks
1. James Stansel
2. Brandon Brock
3. Gary Parker
4. Brandon Johnson
5. Brandon Libri
6. Bobby Arnold

1. Dustin Smith
2. John Holcomb
3. Winford Minix
4. Alex Rudolph
5. Paul Walters
DQ: Ricky Neill

Modified Minis
1. Dustin Smith
2. Todd Brewster
3. Brandon Bright
4. Robbie Scadron
© Copyright 2017
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.