Thursday February 11th, 2016 1:30AM

Bubba Pollard sweeps Gulf States weekend with 5 Flags victory

By Staff
PENSACOLA, FL - It was a big weekend for Bubba Pollard, as the Senoia, GA speedster swept the Gulf States racing weekend Sunday with the Pro Late Model win at 5 Flags Speedway in Pensacola, FL.

Pollard came into the race day off a PLM win the previous night at Mobile International Speedway. Sunday's event at 5 Flags came after a rain pushed Friday's events to a daytime show.

Pollard jumped out to the early lead, with Mike Garvey, Suwanee, GA's Anderson Bowen and Johanna Long in pursuit. Garvey would power his way into the lead on lap seven, and would hold the top spot for much of the first half of the race.

Pollard would regain the lead on a restart near halfway, with Bowen moving to second. That's just where the top two would stay, as Pollard charged away to score the victory, with his fellow Georgia racer Bowen coming home in second.

Garvey finished in third, with Steven Davis in fourth and Korey Ruble in fifth.

Johanna Long, Wayne Niedecken, Jr., Harrison Burton, Thomas Praytor and Kurt Guillot rounded out the top 10.

In other action, Brannon Fowler fresh from a win at Mobile the night before, out drove Billy Hoover and Shanna Ard for the victory in the Sportsmen feature.

Oakie Mason topped the field in the Modified feature, followed by Chris Cotto in second and Joe Thornton in third.

The Super Socks feature victory was scored by Todd Jones, followed by Randy Thompson in second and Bubba Winslow in third.

The Bombers feature win went to Jeff Goff, followed by Michael Nelson and Robert Balkum.

5 Flags Speedway returns to action on Friday, April 11, featuring open wheel action from the Must See Extreme Sprint Cars, along with racing from the Sportsmen and Bombers divisions, as well as Motorcycle racing around the half mile.

5 Flags Speedway - Pensacola, FL
Allen Turner Pro Late Model 100 - March 30, 2014

1. Bubba Pollard
2. Anderson Bowen
3. Mike Garvey
4. Steven Davis
5. Korey Ruble
6. Johanna Long
7. Wayne Niedecken, Jr.
8. Harrison Burton
9. Thomas Praytor
10. Kurt Guillot
11. Bryce Dulabhan
12. Brennon Willard
13. Rusty Sanford
14. Madison Schneider
15. Ronnie Osmer
16. Garrett Jones
17. Larry Blount
18. Perry Patino
19. Troy Grisaffi
20. Elliott Massey
21. Dustin Smith
22. Chuck Tuck
© Copyright 2016
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.
2014 Top 10: Looking back at the top sports stories of the year
It was another year for the record books in 2014, mostly for the right reasons -- state championships, new challenges and new stars taking their turn to shine. But there were also plenty of big stories that reminded us that sports -- like life -- isn
11:55PM ( 1 year ago )
NASCAR K&N Pro Series schedules set for 2015
DAYTONA BEACH, FL - NASCAR announced recently the 2015 schedules for its top developmental regional touring series, the NASCAR K&N Pro Series East and NASCAR K&N Pro Series West.
2:00PM ( 1 year ago )
Lanierland boys final: Johnson makes history with win over Red Elephants <b> (VIDEO) </b>
Ever the aggressor on the court, Johnson
8:55AM ( 1 year ago )
Pits will be tight as Chili Bowl entry count hits 316
TULSA, OK - The 29th annual Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Midget Nationals presented by General Tire is on track to be a record smashing event, with the entry count climbing over the 300 mark for the first time to 316 entries confirming 303 drivers for the indoor spectacular happening Tuesday, January 13 through Saturday, January 17 at the Tulsa Expo Center in Tulsa, OK.
9:59AM ( 1 year ago )
Falcons fire Mike Smith after 2nd straight losing season
Mike Smith's status as the winningest coach in Falcons history wasn't enough to save his job. Owner Arthur Blank said he fired Smith on Monday because in his "heart of hearts" he didn't believe Smith could take the Falcons to the Super Bowl.
7:58PM ( 1 year ago )
New promoters in place for 2015 at Senoia Raceway
SENOIA, GA - Lease papers have been signed and a team of new promoters is in place for the upcoming stock car racing season at Senoia Raceway in Senoia, GA.
6:00AM ( 1 year ago )
Professional Sports
Garbo, Jr. to compete in NASCAR K&N East with Whelen sponsorship
CHARLOTTE, NC--(BUSINESS WIRE)-- When Marsh Racing and longtime team sponsor Whelen Engineering Company, Inc. got the opportunity to put together a race team for 2015, they looked closely at the NASCAR K&N Pro Series East.
12:00PM ( 1 year ago )
Former NASCAR racer pleads guilty in high-speed chase
12:51PM ( 1 year ago )
Chili Bowl entry list again nearing record 300 mark
TULSA, OK - For the past couple years, the entry list for the Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals has flirted with the 300 mark. Once again, the number of teams registering for the indoor Midget event is nearing the three century mark with 285 entries received for the 29th annual Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals.
11:59AM ( 1 year ago )
(VIDEO) 8-AAAA Tournament: North Hall, Buford boys notch semifinal berths; White Co. upset
North Hall basketball's outside shooting prowess is well-known throughout northeast Georgia. But the Trojans showed on Wednesday that opponents better be ready inside too.
11:42AM ( 10 hours from now )
8-AAAA Tournament: North Hall girls knock off rivals to clinch state; Buford girls cruise
North Hall and Buford both used key first half runs to take control of their games and advance to the state tournament Wednesday in the Region 8-AAAA Tournament at the Buford gym.
11:15AM ( 9 hours from now )
(VIDEO) 8-AAAAA Tournament: Branch, GHS girls storm into state
The Flowery Branch girls basketball team may not have got the opening it wanted on Wednesday in the Region 8-AAAAA quarterfinals -- but the Lady Falcons more than made up for that in the second quarter.
By AccessWDUN Staff
10:35AM ( 9 hours from now )
Unbeaten Lady Lions stay perfect in conference play, cruise past Covenant
The Piedmont College women's basketball team extended its longest winning streak since the 2010-11 team won 12 in a row to start the year earning a national ranking as the Lady Lions defeated Covenant College 78-44 Wednesday evening in the Cave.
By AccessWDUN Staff
11:59PM ( 1 hour ago )
Georges-Hunt powers Georgia Tech past Wake Forest, 71-66
Marcus Georges-Hunt and Georgia Tech ended their agonizing trend of close losses at the expense of Wake Forest.
By The Associated Press
11:29PM ( 2 hours ago )