Tuesday October 24th, 2017 12:16AM

Derek Hagar grabs USCS Sprint Car opener at Magnolia

By Staff
  Contact Editor
COLUMBUS, MS - Two-time USCS Sprint Car champion Derek Hagar got his 2014 season off to a good start Saturday night, as the defending series champ scored the feature victory in the USCS Outlaw Thunder Sprint Car portion of the Frostbuster 250 at Magnolia Motor Speedway in Columbus, MS.

The Marion, AR speedster started the feature on the outside of the front row, and out raced Todd Fayard into turn one to grab the lead on lap one. He would battle Tim Crawley for the next 13 laps before Crawley hooked a rut midway through turns three and four and bicycled into the fence, losing ground on the streaking Hagar. Crawley took up the chase again only to have engine problems end his night.

Hagar would go on to score the victory, his 21st in USCS action.

Terry Gray finished in second, with Eddie Gallagher in third, Brandon Hanks in fourth and Henry Gustavus in fifth.

In other action, Ken Schrader charged to the front from sixth place on lap 10 of the 25 lap K&N Filters USCS Outlaw Modified Series vs. the new Gulf States Modified Series main event and raced the final 15 laps to victory lane.

Cade Dillard started the night on the pole. When the green flag flew, Rodney Wing raced into the lead and held off Dillard for the first five laps. On lap six, Dillard would move past Wing and led until the duo started lap ten. At that point they touched wheels entering turn one and Dillard's night was done with front-end damage. Wing re-started at the rear of the field.

That moved Schrader to the lead with Kenny Wallace and Greg Hollingsworth on his rear bumper for the restart. Schrader then closed the deal by racing smoothly around the top of the racing surface while the Wallace and Hollingsworth duo battled for the runner-up spot. Wallace would cross the line in second behind of Schrader, with Hillingsorth in third. Chris Moore and Hunter Rasdon rounded out the top five.

The USCS 600 Mini-Sprints were also in action, with Kyle Amerson of Matthews, AL scoring his first USCS victory.

Amerson started in fourth position and raced into the runner-up spot behind early race leader Curt Schumacher on the first lap. He then chased Schumacher for the first eight laps until Schumacher lost a drive chain on the re-start after a lap nine caution period.

Amerson grabbed the lead and raced the final six laps around the 3/8 mile clay oval to the victory. 13 year-old Brandon Taylor from Cumming, GA chased Amerson across the finish line for a career best second place finish. Sean Hosey came home in third, with Bobby Zaiontz in fourth and Rick Goss in fifth.

The USCS Outlaw Thunder Sprint Cars, the USCS Outlaw Modifieds and the USCS 600 Mini-Sprints will all return to action the weekend of March 14-15 at Tennessee National Raceway in Hohenwald, TN. The Outlaw Thunder Sprints will race on March 15, with the Outlaw Modifieds and Mini-Sprints racing March 14-15.

USCS Outlaw Thunder Tour
Magnolia Motor Speedway - Columbus, MS
USCS Frostbuster 250 - March 1, 2014

1. 9jr Derek Hagar
2. 10 Terry Gray
3. 1x Eddie Gallagher
4. 3h Brandon Hanks
5. 42 Henry Gustavus
6. 10m Morgan Turpen
7. 12m Greg Merritt
8. 88 Tim Crawley
9. 16f Lance Hester
10. 28 Jeff Willingham
11. 1a Lee Moore
12. 13 Todd Fayard
13. 13t Taylor Tidmore

USCS Outlaw Modifieds
1. 9 Ken Schrader
2. 36 Kenny Wallace
3. 008 Greg Hollingsworth
4. 45x Chris Moore
5. R5 Hunter Rasdon
6. 12 Lucas Lee
7. 07 Ben Reed
8. 1 Jeff Wells, Jr.
9. 28 Luke Riddle
10. 7w J.C. Waller
11. 00 Jon Gray
12. 21 Troy Dow
13. 6 Rusty Cooper
14. 9k Robert Casada
15. 89 Joseph Leister
16. 29 Preston Seratt
17. 51 Rodney Wing
18. 34 Ben Stephens
19. 04 Rodney Ethridge
20. 24R Daniel Roe
21. 97 Cade Dillard
22. 25 Toby Hodge
23. 10 Jason Henry
24. 34 Noah Daspit

USCS 600 Mini-Sprints
1. 12 Kyle Amerson
2. 07 Brandon Taylor
3. 6 Sean Hosey
4. 1 Bobby Zaiontz
5. 9 Rick Goss
6. 13 Kyle Carpenter
7. 98 Bob Trapino
8. 5 Justin Rabon
9. Bo Barber
10. 83 Curt Schumacher
11. 22 Phillip Hamilton
12. 131 Dusty Young
13. 14d Darl Parvin
14. 17c Chris Openshaw 
© Copyright 2017
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.