Friday November 27th, 2015 10:32AM

Opportunity knocks, Coby answers for NASCAR Whelen Modified win at Daytona

By Jason Christley, NASCAR Media
Related Articles
  Contact Editor
DAYTONA BEACH, FL - Doug Coby was in the right place at the right time and came home with the big prize Tuesday at Daytona International Speedway.

Coby took advantage of a late-race incident involving a dominant Ryan Preece and drove to victory in the NASCAR Whelen Modified-Whelen Southern Modified Tour portion of the UNOH Battle At The Beach on the short track at "The World Center of Racing."

Daytona was Coby's first start in the No. 2 of Mike Smeriglio III Racing. The team won the inaugural UNOH Battle At The Beach a year ago with Steve Park behind the wheel.

The reigning Whelen Modified Tour champion, Preece led the first 147 laps after winning the Coors Light Pole Award earlier in the day. But lap car Dave Sapienza got into Preece on lap 141 to damage his left rear wheel.

On the ensuing restart Preece faded wide in turns 1 and 2 to open the door for Coby, who restarted third. Coby, the 2012 Whelen Modified champion from Milford, CN, then powered to the lead and held off a hard-charging Jason Myers for the victory.

Coby and Myers were followed across the line by Luke Fleming, Preece, Burt Myers.
Rookie Tommy Barrett Jr., Cody Ware, Ron Silk, Eric Goodale and JR Bertuccio.

The NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour opens the championship points season April 6 at Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park in Thompson, CN. The NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour kicks off March 9 at Caraway Speedway in Sophia, NC.

NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour
NASCAR Southern Modified Tour
Daytona International Speedway - Daytona Beach, FL
UNOH Battle At The Beach - Feb. 18, 2014

Fin Str Car Driver Team Laps Status
1 5 2 Doug Coby Dunleavy's Truck & Trailer Repair Ford 150 Running
2 6 14 Jason Myers E-Cigs Ford 150 Running
3 9 40 Luke Fleming Powell Mtspts. Ford 150 Running
4 1 16 Ryan Preece East West Marine/Diversified Metals Ford 150 Running
5 14 1 Burt Myers Citrusafe/Speedway Auto Auction/Adam's Ford 150 Running
6 15 22 Tommy Barrett, Jr. * Robert B Our Co/Canto & Sons Paving Chevrolet 150 Running
7 13 31 Cody Ware * RaceTrac Chevrolet 150 Running
8 17 6 Ron Silk TS Haulers/Calverton Tree Farm Chevrolet 150 Running
9 3 58 Eric Goodale Flooring Chevrolet 150 Running
10 22 21 JR Bertuccio Gershow Recycling Chevrolet 150 Running
11 2 4 Donny Lia Mystic Missile Racing Dodge 150 Running
12 7 7 Patrick Emerling Emerling Chevrolet Inc. Chevrolet 150 Running
13 21 99 Jamie Tomaino Supreme Manufacturing Chevrolet 150 Running
14 11 88 John Beatty, Jr. * Meadowbrook Collision Ford 149 Running
15 4 75 Timmy Solomito * Eastport Feeds Chevrolet 147 Running
16 23 15 Rob Fuller 15-40 Connection Chevrolet 146 Running
17 26 36 Dave Sapienza * Frankie's Towing Chevrolet 141 Accident
18 8 51 Justin Bonsignore Chevrolet 131 Mechanical
19 12 73 Cole Powell Copps/Tricar/Chester's Goat Milk Chevrolet 129 Rear End
20 10 7 Kyle Benjamin * RainEater Wiper Blades/Menards Chevrolet 106 Suspension
21 24 8 Dalton Baldwin * Children's Dream Racer Chevrolet 98 Mechanical
22 20 00 A.J. Winstead Health Diagnostic/Gator's Dockside Chevrolet 68 Mechanical
23 16 70 Jeremy Gerstner Hog Wild Transp./GMR Lawn Care Chevrolet 56 Running
24 25 71 Jimmy Zacharias * Central States Used Clothing Chevrolet 42 Mechanical
25 19 79 Dave Brigati Coors Light/JDL/Monster Energy Drink Pontiac 10 Mechanical

Fastest Qualifier: Ryan Preece, Time: 17.414 Seconds, Speed: 76.490 mph
Did Not Qualify: (2) Gary Fountain, Sr., Matt Montineri
Time of Race: 1 hrs., 4 mins, 32 secs Average Speed: 51.601 mph Margin of Victory: 0.322 Seconds
Caution Flags: [Beneficiary in brackets] Laps 18-23 (Car #15 spinout (Turn 4) [88]); 30-34 (Car 88 spinout (Turn 1) [none]); 36-41 (Cars #46, 70 accident (Turn 1) [88]); 43-47 (Cars #15, 88, 99 accident (Turn 3) [none]); 71-78 (Car #00 stopped on track (Turn 4) [58]); 122-127 (Car #4 spinout (Turn 1) [58]); 132-135 (Car #73 stopped on track (Backstretch) [21]); 143-146 (Cars #36, 16 accident (Turn 1) [88]). 8 for 44 laps.
Lap Leaders: Ryan Preece 1-147, Doug Coby 148-150.
Total Laps Led: Ryan Preece 147, Doug Coby 3. 1 changes involving 2 drivers.

*Sunoco Rookie of the Year contender
© Copyright 2015
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.
2014 Top 10: Looking back at the top sports stories of the year
It was another year for the record books in 2014, mostly for the right reasons -- state championships, new challenges and new stars taking their turn to shine. But there were also plenty of big stories that reminded us that sports -- like life -- isn
11:55PM ( 10 months ago )
NASCAR K&N Pro Series schedules set for 2015
DAYTONA BEACH, FL - NASCAR announced recently the 2015 schedules for its top developmental regional touring series, the NASCAR K&N Pro Series East and NASCAR K&N Pro Series West.
2:00PM ( 10 months ago )
Lanierland boys final: Johnson makes history with win over Red Elephants <b> (VIDEO) </b>
Ever the aggressor on the court, Johnson
8:55AM ( 10 months ago )
Pits will be tight as Chili Bowl entry count hits 316
TULSA, OK - The 29th annual Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Midget Nationals presented by General Tire is on track to be a record smashing event, with the entry count climbing over the 300 mark for the first time to 316 entries confirming 303 drivers for the indoor spectacular happening Tuesday, January 13 through Saturday, January 17 at the Tulsa Expo Center in Tulsa, OK.
9:59AM ( 10 months ago )
Falcons fire Mike Smith after 2nd straight losing season
Mike Smith's status as the winningest coach in Falcons history wasn't enough to save his job. Owner Arthur Blank said he fired Smith on Monday because in his "heart of hearts" he didn't believe Smith could take the Falcons to the Super Bowl.
7:58PM ( 10 months ago )
New promoters in place for 2015 at Senoia Raceway
SENOIA, GA - Lease papers have been signed and a team of new promoters is in place for the upcoming stock car racing season at Senoia Raceway in Senoia, GA.
6:00AM ( 10 months ago )
Professional Sports
Garbo, Jr. to compete in NASCAR K&N East with Whelen sponsorship
CHARLOTTE, NC--(BUSINESS WIRE)-- When Marsh Racing and longtime team sponsor Whelen Engineering Company, Inc. got the opportunity to put together a race team for 2015, they looked closely at the NASCAR K&N Pro Series East.
12:00PM ( 11 months ago )
Former NASCAR racer pleads guilty in high-speed chase
12:51PM ( 11 months ago )
Chili Bowl entry list again nearing record 300 mark
TULSA, OK - For the past couple years, the entry list for the Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals has flirted with the 300 mark. Once again, the number of teams registering for the indoor Midget event is nearing the three century mark with 285 entries received for the 29th annual Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals.
11:59AM ( 11 months ago )
(VIDEO) Game of the Week: Rabun County aims to surpass historic mark
Rabun County football has already caught up with history -- now the Wildcats hope outrun it.
8:58PM ( 10 hours from now )
Playoffs: Quarterfinals yield no let-offs for area programs
Even though things continue to get tougher the further you go in the playoffs, none of the five area teams still remaining would give up their spot as they prepare for Friday night’s quarterfinal action.
7:25PM ( 8 hours from now )
Commerce just fine with underdog role
The underdog role suits Commerce coach Michael Brown and the Tigers just fine...
7:20PM ( 8 hours from now )
Georgia Tech beats Arkansas 83-73
By Georgia Tech coach Brian Gregory's lofty standards, Charles Mitchell could have collected 20 rebounds.
11:47PM ( 10 hours ago )
Falcons sign 2nd K Shayne Graham, waive LB Joplo Bartu
With Matt Bryant slowed by a right quadriceps injury, the Atlanta Falcons have signed kicker Shayne Graham.
11:41PM ( 10 hours ago )