Thursday May 26th, 2016 2:55AM

Several county officials from NE Ga. recognized by ACCG

By Staff
ATLANTA - The Association County Commissioners of Georgia (ACCG) and the Carl Vinson Institute of Government at the University of Georgia recently recognized over 50 county officials for completing one of several commissioners' training programs.

The number includes several from northeast Georgia representing Dawson, Forsyth, Fannin, Habersham, Elbert, Jackson, Gwinnett, Rabun and Madison counties.

The certificates were presented at the 2013 ACCG Annual Conference held at the Savannah Civic Center.

ACCG and the Vinson Institute have been providing leadership development and training certification programs for county commissioners and county staff members for over two decades.

The spring 2013 training certificate recipients are as follows:

The Platinum Standard of Excellence

Sandi Allen, Heard County
Larry Childs, Jones County
Gwen Flowers-Taylor, Spalding County
The Gold Standard of Excellence
James Everett, Charlton County
Garnett "Sonny" James, Habersham County
Bruce Yates, Jackson County
Carlos Nelson, Ware County

The Silver Standard of Excellence

Scott Downing, Ben Hill County
Mike Berg, Dawson County
Robert Thomas, Elbert County
Alan Ours, Glynn County
Titus Andrews, Greene County
David Richardson, Long County
Nancy Schulz, Newton County
Melvin Davis, Oconee County
David Austin, Paulding County
Paul Van Haute, Putnam County
Dell Shingler, Seminole County
Edward Burten, Washington County
Bettye Bozeman, Worth County

Certified Commissioners Advanced Program

Jimmy Burnsed, Bryan County
Charles Deen, Coffee County
Paul Poole, Coweta County
Chad Henderson, Habersham County
George Moore, Unified Government of Webster

Commissioners Training Program

Bennie Calloway, Ben Hill County
Terri Kelly, Burke County
Jeffrey Long, Catoosa County
Ronne Sumner, Cook County
Bob Blackburn, Coweta County
Jimmy Hamby, Dawson County
Harold Reynolds, Elbert County
Rusty Lane, Emanuel County
Larry Sosebee, Fannin County
Ralph Amos, Forsyth County
Liz Haussman, Fulton County
Lynette Howard, Gwinnett County
Jamie Bennett, Haralson County
Guy Singletary, Johnson County
Robert Glaze, Lincoln County
Billy Goldman, Lincoln County
Richard Raines, Lowndes County
Jim Escoe, Madison County
Kelly Spratt, McIntosh County
Deborah Pearce, Miller County
Jason Ward, Polk County
Jimmy Loudermilk, Rabun County
Samuel Gardner, Spalding County
Raymond Ray, Spalding County
Nancy Livingston, Telfair County
Derrick Ogletree, Thomas County
Larry Mathis, Washington County
Arthur Greene, Wilcox County
Mack Sutton, Worth County
© Copyright 2016
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.
Missing Ga. bank director arrested in Brunswick
A bank director accused of losing millions of investors' dollars before vanishing last year was arrested Tuesday during a traffic stop in a city in south Georgia.
7:00PM ( 2 years ago )
S&P 500 index has its best year since 1997
The stock market closed out a record year with more all-time highs on Tuesday, giving U.S. indexes their biggest annual gains in almost two decades.
6:56PM ( 2 years ago )
Colorado readies for 'Green Wednesday' pot sales
Police were adding extra patrols around pot shops in eight Colorado towns that plan to allow recreational sales to anyone over 21 on Jan. 1.
1:52PM ( 2 years ago )
Business News
Sex offender held in Hall County for failing to register
A 47-year-old man was booked into the Hall County Jail Tuesday, being held without bond for allegedly failing to register as a sex offender, his second such arrest.
6:09PM ( 2 years ago )
Pharmacy robberies may involve same suspect
Oakwood Police Tuesday afternoon released details in a pharmacy robbery they're investigating, similar to one that happened in the Hall County Tuesday morning.
5:46PM ( 2 years ago )
Victim critical following apartment fire
A 41-year-old woman was in critical but stable condition Tuesday after being rescued from an apartment fire in Forsyth County late Monday afternoon.
3:16PM ( 2 years ago )
Local/State News
Medicaid growth creates gap of 5M without coverage; 409K in Ga.
About 5 million people will be without health care next year that they would have gotten simply if they lived somewhere else in America.
7:30AM ( 2 years ago )
Vandals spray graffiti against Kerry in West Bank
Suspected Jewish vandals set fire to three vehicles in a West Bank village early on Tuesday and sprayed threatening graffiti referring to U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry ahead of his expected visit to the region, police said.
7:28AM ( 2 years ago )
Feds announce test sites for drone aircraft
The Federal Aviation Administration announced six states on Monday that will develop test sites for drones, a critical next step for the march of the unmanned aircraft into U.S. skies.
2:23PM ( 2 years ago )
Unicoi offering aerial adventure park beginning Thursday
Just in time for summer, Unicoi State Park and Lodge has rolled out its new aerial adventure park.
3:03PM ( 1 day ago )
Businesses network with customers, each other during White County expo
About three dozen businesses from White County and the surrounding area showcased their services and the products they provide during the 2016 White County Chamber of Commerce Business Expo held Thursday.
9:30PM ( 3 days ago )
Flowery Branch gives first reading okay to rezoning for senior housing complex, approves city hall financing plan
The Flowery Branch City Council gave first reading approval to a rezoning request for a 7.1-acre tract on East Main Street that could lead to the construction of a 60-unit multi-family senior housing affordable-living complex.
11:41PM ( 6 days ago )
Greater Hall Chamber hosts ribbon-cutting for Discover-E Strategies, LLC
The Greater Hall County Chamber Commerce hosted a ribbon cutting Wednesday for a new company in Hall County called Discover-E.
By AccessWDUN Staff
7:52PM ( 1 week ago )
Lula officials say they're on track for alcohol votes in November
The Lula City Council is looking to put several alcohol issues before the public for a vote in November.
3:02PM ( 1 week ago )