Saturday October 21st, 2017 11:49AM

Wynne, Piedmont Public Defender among nominees for state Court of Appeals

By Ken Stanford Reporter
  Contact Editor
ATLANTA - Hall County State Court Judge Charles Wynne and the public defender for Piedmont Judicial Circuit (Banks, Barrow and Jackson counties) are among the nominees for a soon-to-be-vacant seat on the state Court of Appeals.

Wynne, Kathleen Anderson and 73 other people, including Gwinnett County Superior Court Judge Michael C. Clark, are being considered for the post by the state Judicial Nominating Commission, according to The Daily Report, an Atlanta-based publication that focuses on the judiciary,

The commission will narrow the list down and then forward the names of the finalists to Gov. Nathan Deal, who will make the appointment.

The person Deal chooses will replace Judge Harris Adams, who plans to retire from the state Court of Appeals January 1.

Here is the complete list of nominees, according to The Daily Report:

Catherine "Katie" Salinas Acree, parnter at Carlton Fields specializing in business and white collar crime litigation;

Mary Paige Adams, Green & Sapp litigator and member of the JNC;

Virgil Adams, Bibb County attorney and former Macon assistant district attorney;

Wayne R. Allen, the state's legislative counsel;

Kathleen Joan Anderson, a lawyer with the Piedmont Circuit Public Defender;

Alison Kyler Arce, part-time Fulton County Superior Court Family Division magistrate and partner at Arce Shaw;

Manubir "Manny" Arora, an Atlanta criminal defense lawyer with Arora & LaScala;

Alissa C. Atkins, senior associate at Ken David & Associates specializing in workers compensation defense;

Amelia Waller Baker, lawyer with the state Law Department;

Jeffrey Bashuk, attorney with Bashuk & Glickman in Atlanta;

David S. Beale, Atlanta lawyer;

Deborah C. Benefield, Clayton County Superior Court chief judge;

Ernest Blount, Henry County State Court judge;

Christopher S. Brasher, Fulton County Superior Court judge;

Charles Bridgers, partner at Delong, Caldwell, Bridgers & Fitzpatrick and general counsel for physician practices and restaurant groups;

Manley Brown, personal injury and product liability lawyer at O'Neal & Brown and former assistant U.S. Attorney for the Middle District of Georgia;

Sewell R. Brumby, Conyers lawyer and former legislative counsel;

Jacqueline Bunn, a lawyer with the Georgia Department of Public Safety;

Deitra Pleshette Burney-Butler, Clayton County Juvenile Court judge;

W. Sander "Sandy" Callahan, Atlanta solo practitioner specializing in criminal defense and other matters;

Dan Thomas Carter, labor and employment lawyer in Jones Day's Cleveland, Ohio, office;

Michael C. Clark, Gwinnett County Superior Court judge;

Charles M. Cork III, Macon attorney who previously chaired the amicus curiae committee for the Georgia Trial Lawyers Association;

Arthur J. Creque, chief assistant solicitor-general in Houston County;

C. Celeste Creswell, a civil litigator with Miller & Martin's Chattanooga office;

David Darden, Cobb County State Court judge and president of the Council of State Court Judges;

Antonio DelCampo, plaintiff's attorney with Harris Penn Lowry DelCampo and a former DeKalb County State Court judge;

James Alan Dooley, Douglas County assistant district attorney;

C. Wilson DuBose, Madison attorney who has served as president of the Atlanta Bar Association and chairman of the Georgia Public Defender Standards Council;

Christopher Edwards, chief judge for the Griffin Circuit Superior Court;

Jason "Jay" Fisher, lawyer with the state Law Department;

Angela Marie Garland, assistant United States attorney in the Northern District of Georgia;

Don P. Geary, DeKalb County chief assistant district attorney;

William D. Gifford, an assistant U.S. attorney in the Middle District of Georgia;

Stephen Goss, Dougherty Circuit Superior Court judge;

R. William Graham, owner and operator of A Patent Lawyer, which is based in Oklahoma and also operates in Georgia, Indiana, Kentucky and Ohio;

Reuben Green, Cobb County Superior Court judge;

Jason T. Harper, Henry County State Court judge;

Thomas D. Harper, solo practitioner and mediator;

Lorraine Sanchez Hayes, Tyrone attorney who offers corporations consulting services in law department management and conflict resolution;

Joshua E. Kight, solo practitioner in Dublin, Ga. and executive director of the Downtown Dublin Development Authority;

Gerard B. Kleinrock, appellate attorney with the DeKalb County Public Defender's Office;

Leslie Klemperer, former lawyer at Delta Air Lines who is chair of the board of directors of the Georgia Justice Project;

J. Pope Langstaff, civil and tort litigation lawyer at Chambless, Higdon, Richardson, Katz & Griggs and former Macon city attorney;

Hugh J. Lanier, government attorney in Lawrenceville;

Jeannette Little, Troup County State Court judge;

Willie J. Lovett, Jr., director of the Fulton County Office of the Child Attorney;

James Luttrell, a solo practitioner in Canton;

D. Todd Markle, who was Deal's executive counsel before the governor appointed him to the Fulton County Superior Court;

Marc Mallon, Fulton County chief senior assistant district attorney;

Richard Marks, Atlanta Circuit public defender;

Doug McKillip, former state House representative from Athens defeated in the Republican primary this summer;

Carla Wong McMillian, Fayette County State Court judge;

Garret W. Meader, litigation partner with Brown, Readdick, Bumgartner, Carter, Strickland & Watkins in Brunswick;

Larry B. Mims, Tift County State Court judge;

LaRae Dixon Moore, Chattahoochee Circuit assistant district attorney;

Ashley Phillips Purcell, heads Hall Booth Smith's birth trauma and catastrophic injury litigation group;

Latonya Moore Raston, lawyer with Novartis Animal Health, an animal pharmaceutical company, in Greensboro, N.C.;

Richard Read, Rockdale County district attorney;

Tilman E. "Trip" Self III, Macon Circuit Superior Court judge;

Kenneth L. Shigley, State Bar of Georgia past president and trial lawyer at Chambers, Aholt & Rickard;

Lamar Sizemore Jr., of counsel and mediator at Sell & Martin and former Macon Superior Court judge;

Michelle Smith;

D. Jay Stewart, Atlantic Circuit Superior Court judge;

Benjamin Studdard III, Henry County State Court chief judge;

Jeffrey "Jeff" W. Stump, a lawyer with the state Law Department;

J. Darren Summerville, a litigator with Summerville Moore in Atlanta;

Wes Tailor, Fulton County State Court judge and former director of the Georgia Secretary of State's Elections Division;

Kathryn Tanksley, Cobb County State Court judge;

Jason Brian Von Berman, lawyer at Fidelity National Title Group;

Nathan J. Wade, solo practitioner and Marietta Municipal Court judge;

R. Christina "Chris" Wall, medical malpractice defense lawyer at Carlock, Copeland & Stair;

Thomas Leland Walker, solo practitioner in Atlanta;

Lyle G. Warshauer, personal injury attorney with the Warshauer Law Group in Atlanta;

Charles S. Wynne, Hall County State Court judge.
© Copyright 2017
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.